“Did we win?”

TV Show: The Expanse
Episode Title: Doors & Corners
Original Air Date: February 1, 2017
Episode Number: 2×02

Episode Description

Holden and crew stage a dangerous raid in search of information about the protomolecule.

My Review

Damn, shit really hit the fan in this episode! Loved the battle scenes, as per usual, and I was actually worried that they would kill off Amos so I’m glad they didn’t. He really came through with patching up the Roci there in the nick of time and I admire his bravery and not being afraid of anything. He just wants to do the job. He definitely continues to be my favorite.

Miller shooting that scientist, man, I don’t even know what to say. I don’t think that was a good move because if the scientist was telling the truth, they could have used his knowledge of the protomolecule and also found out who his benefactors were. I get that he’s angry about what the scientist did to Julie, but come on, this could have been a big breakthrough on the Earth/Mars/OPA battle.

Fred Johnson helping Holden go to that unregistered ship was a pleasant surprise. The OPA could be the one to put a stop to this all-out war between Earth and Mars and I would love to see both planets’ reaction to this when it comes to light.

Meanwhile, back on Earth, Avasarala is still full of political shenanigans and I just enjoy watching her play everyone like a fiddle. Her suggestion to Errinwright that they should target Deimos, a Martian moon that will cause very little casualties, if any, as a proportional response for Mars blowing up Phoebe was very smart. I love watching her play this political game and I can’t wait to see what else she has in store for the rest of the season.

I liked the Holden/Naomi scene where Holden asked her how Amos will react if he found out about them: Naomi considers Amos as a brother, but Holden has a point when he commented if Amos knows that. I laughed when Naomi first said that she and Holden can make a public announcement or take out an ad to let everyone know that they are a thing, lol.

Other random thoughts and observations:

– Interesting to see that Diogo guy pop up in this episode. I really thought he would have died out there floating in space when his uncle dumped him before he went on his suicide mission.

– I liked Johnson’s second-in-command female crew member and I hope we get to see more of her.

– Who else laughed when they saw those pods said FedEx on the outside? Good to know they’re still in business hundreds of years from now!

– What were those scientists doing while hooked up to that machine? Very creepy scene.

Leave a Reply

