“Never listen to what people say. Just watch what they do.”

TV Show: The Expanse
Episode Title: Safe
Original Air Date: February 1, 2017
Episode Number: 2×01

Episode Description

Miller, Holden, and the crew of the Roci deal with the aftermath of their narrow escape from Eros. We meet Martian Marine Gunnery Sergeant Bobbie Draper and her platoon when the “Cuban Missile Crisis” between Earth and Mars heats up.

My Review

I’m so glad I don’t have to wait to watch season two and that I can just binge-watch the show. Then again, after I finish this season, I’m going to have to wait a long time for season three just like the rest of the viewers.

I loved that we finally got to go to Mars and meet a few of the Martians with Gunny/Bobbie and her crew. I like her already and I felt for her when she came to the realization that it might be a long time before she sees Mars being habitable just like Earth. Her feelings about Earth should be an interesting plotline and I can’t wait to see more of her and her crew.

The political shenanigans between Avasarala, Errinwright, Johnson, and Mars are finally heating up and I can’t wait for Avasarala to one-up Errinwright and his co-conspirators. Her being proactive and hiring a spy is a genius move and I’m looking forward to their relationship and how this can benefit Avasarala and her resolve not to have Earth go to war with Mars.

Amos almost killing Miller was a scary sight. Without Naomi there to stop him, I really think Amos would have killed Miller. Interesting observation by Miller about Amos and Naomi’s relationship, how Amos is like a child who Naomi has to keep an eye out on. He definitely has pegged them right.

Loved that we got to see the Roci crew along with Miller just hang out and enjoy each other’s company while eating Alex’s lasagna. Amos offering Miller a seat at the table as if nothing happened between them is classic Amos.

I know I said I was starting to ship Holden and Naomi in my review of the S1 finale, but I think I will have to retract that statement just a bit because they got together in this episode and I wasn’t too thrilled about it. I wrote in that S1 finale review that I wanted the writers to go a more organic route and have them get closer to each other, not fuck each other in the first episode of season two. Come on, man. It would have been so much more interesting if the writers took this relationship slowly and developed it even more.

I loved the concern that Naomi showed Holden while they were preparing the protomolecule and it was very sweet, but I rolled my eyes when they were stripping off their suits. Like, really? They couldn’t do that by themselves? It felt so contrived. Oh well. I’ll still enjoy both of them, together and separately because they do have great chemistry. Just please, let’s not have Amos acting all jealous and shit.

Leave a Reply

