“Doc could find a dildo in a nunnery”

TV Show: Wynonna Earp
Episode Title: I See A Darkness
Original Air Date: August 11, 2017
Episode Number: 2×10

Episode Description

The team may not be able to save one of their own after a deadly run-in with the Widows.

My Review

Whoa. That was an amazing episode from beginning to end. That ending was definitely something else and reminded me of the season three finale of Fringe. I can’t wait to see the next episode and how Wynonna’s disappearance changed the lives of those she knew. From the ending, we saw: 1) Jeremy and Waverly are engaged (!!!); 2) Doc is back in the well, but remembers Wynonna; 3) Doc doesn’t remember Wynonna. What the what?!

I’m kind of excited to see Jeremy and Waverly interact like an engaged couple (lol) because this has all the makings of a truly hilarious and entertaining story. I did like how they bonded over the geeky things earlier in the episode (Jeremy’s Optimum Mug, how cool Komodo dragons are) so I think it will be a hoot seeing them be all geeky together and being adorkable about everything.

As for the episode, well, damn, that was packed. The biggest shock was either Waverly betraying Wynonna or Nicole being married and meeting her wife. Let’s talk about the former first. I can’t believe Waverly did that and I understand that she only wanted to help, but after all she and Wynonna have been through, she really should have trusted Wynonna to come up with a way to save Nicole. And for most of the episode, Waverly waited on Wynonna, but when Dolls gave her permission and an excuse to take matters into her own hands (by having him be the scapegoat), she took it right away. I don’t want the Earp sisters to be at odds so I hope that they make up and figure out how to get out of this mess.

The second shock of the episode left me stunned. Did not expect to find out that Nicole is married to a doctor and that they only got married after seeing Britney Live in Vegas and were high on passion and that it doesn’t mean anything. But then the question arises: if it doesn’t mean anything, why are they still married and haven’t gotten the marriage annulled? It’s good, though, that we are not going the triangle route with these three since Shay seems understanding that Nicole is in love with Waverly.

I was not a fan of how Wynonna treated Rosita in this episode with threatening to kill her if she doesn’t help them and practically ordering her to use herself as a guinea pig for Jeremy to test the anti-venom serum on her and then once this is over, kill her. What in the actual fuck, Wynonna? I know she’s the Earp heir and has been tasked with ridding the Earth of Revenants, but Rosita has been nothing but helpful towards Wynonna and her family. Hell, she helped save Dolls. Without her, Dolls wouldn’t have survived. That doesn’t count for anything?

I was so happy when Waverly immediately removed the IV from Rosita’s arm once she saw her being used as a guinea pig. Even despite the craziness going on, Waverly is still concerned for others’ safety and well-being and I love her for it. I also liked that Jeremy had qualms about using Rosita as a test subject and was only doing it because Rosita already injected the IV into her arm before he can really protest. Jeremy is a freaking saint. Love that dude.

Big ups to Nedley for not cracking after getting tortured by Widow Mercedes. I thought he was going to die in this episode so I was very glad he didn’t because I like him and the actor. I want him to be there when the team is ready to off Widow Mercedes and to help them do it.

It was nice to see the Blacksmith’s twin sister (played by the same actress who played the Blacksmith), but not very nice that she made Wynonna disappear. Someone remind me why she’s mad at the Earp sisters? Who ended up killing the Blacksmith? Was she collateral damage when Wynonna was fighting the Revenants? I don’t remember. What is she planning on doing what that hockey trophy? And what is the significance of that plate that the firemen chief gave back to Dolls?

So I’m guessing we will see Clootie back next episode now that Widow Beth has the third seal to resurrect him? Things are close to hitting the fan (if it hasn’t already). This really has been a great season and I’m so glad that it has already been renewed for a third season. I’m hoping everyone on the cast comes back next season.

One last thing: how adorable is it that Nicole’s cat is named Calamity Jane? đŸ˜„

Leave a Reply

