“We’re better when we stick together”

TV Show: The Expanse
Episode Title: Crititcal Mass
Original Air Date: February 2, 2016
Episode Number: 1×09

Episode Description

A flashback to Julie’s origin story reveals her trajectory. Holden and Miller finally meet and team up to get to the bottom of the strange emergency situation happening on Eros.

My Review

Oh, Julie Mao. You didn’t deserve to die like that, alone and no one to care about you. That bastard Dawes didn’t even answer her messages. It’s possible he never got the messages, but I’m not going to give him the benefit of the doubt. He’s been shown to be pretty ruthless so I don’t doubt for a second that he left Julie there to die. I can’t wait for Miller to shoot his ass. Julie died for the Belters and believing in their cause, not knowing all along that Dawes was just using her. So sad.

Come on, does the show really think Miller and Holden will die after being exposed to such a high amount of radiation? Who are they kidding? I can’t believe they didn’t leave that room full of dying people as soon as they saw what was inside. Were those people injected with the virus? What the fuck is Julie’s dad’s plan? Were they test subjects? Damn!

Fred Johnson broadcasting that message is not good for Earth because he just made Earth the target and pretty much told Mars that Earth was responsible for shooting down the Donnager and the Canterbury and starting all-out war. If people really think about it, though, why would Earth do this? Time for Avasarala to shoot back and figure out a way to get Earth out of this mess.

Kudos to the actress who played Julie. That must have been one hell of a scene to shoot with her getting sicker and sicker and dying a slow death. It was so gross when that thing started coming out of her mouth and to also see it growing all over her body. Great job to the special effects team.

“How about I shoot you another mouth hole and you talk to yourself?”

TV Show: Killjoys
Episode Title: The Wolf You Feed
Original Air Date: August 11, 2017
Episode Number: 3×07

Episode Description

Desperate for an advantage, Dutch goes AWOL and risks a dangerous procedure that connects her to Aneela’s memories.

My Review

I don’t understand anymore what is going on with this show…well, mostly Dutch’s origins. From what I gathered from reading various message boards, Dutch IS Aneela and Aneela IS Dutch and that Dutch was borne out of Aneela’s memories that Khlyen tried to suppress? I don’t get it, but whatever. I’ll hand-wave it. Aneela pulled Dutch from her memories via the green goo and that’s why they both look the same and also that Khlyen was really Dutch’s father. Who would have thunk it? I’ll let the smart people speculate on what this all means.

I enjoyed the backstory we got as to how Dutch and Johnny met and also Johnny and Lucy’s first meeting. Both of them were of course pretty fucking awesome. I laughed so hard at Johnny’s guyliner, lol. I can’t believe Dutch hasn’t poked fun about that yet – prime opportunity!

Lucy and Johnny’s first meeting was pretty antagonistic with Lucy killing him “thief” and you could already tell that they were going to have a wonderful relationship.

“Ship?”
“Yes, thief?”
“Are we still alone?”
“No, thief.”

Hee.

Dutch and Johnny’s first meeting was also antagonistic with Dutch even shooting him for the first time (and that’s why Johnny wore the vest when he went to find Dutch after she left Zeph): “I love you, Dutch, but you don’t get to shoot me twice” The shipper in me is happy. Loved the two of them touching their foreheads together, aww.

“Johnny Jaqobis, lover of ships.”
“Yala Yardeen, killer of men.”

Turin not trusting Fancy and the rest of the Cleansed got his ass imprisoned for sedition. Why, Turin? Why did you let that Hullen hostage a few episodes back get to your head? This is your team! Trust that they have your back and are in this to defeat the Hullen and for what they did to them. Sucks that he’s not with the group and I hope he realizes the errors of his ways.

D’avin figuring out how to fly the ships (thanks to Fancy) and holding fort while Dutch was missing was a great display of leadership. I hope Dutch is not serious when she told him that he’s a better leader than her (at the moment) and that this is his army and not hers. I don’t believe her for one second.

It was a lot of fun seeing Johnny figure out Zeph’s clues and puzzles for him to reboot Lucy. I really like their rapport and how they bond over all things geeky. It’s adorable. I just hope the show doesn’t go there with these two because they have a sibling chemistry that doesn’t need to be messed with.

Lastly, this Lucy/Johnny exchange cracked me up so much:

“Lucy, if you had a body right now, I would kiss it.”
“If I had a body right now, I would let you.”
“Still creepy, Lucy.”

“Doc could find a dildo in a nunnery”

TV Show: Wynonna Earp
Episode Title: I See A Darkness
Original Air Date: August 11, 2017
Episode Number: 2×10

Episode Description

The team may not be able to save one of their own after a deadly run-in with the Widows.

My Review

Whoa. That was an amazing episode from beginning to end. That ending was definitely something else and reminded me of the season three finale of Fringe. I can’t wait to see the next episode and how Wynonna’s disappearance changed the lives of those she knew. From the ending, we saw: 1) Jeremy and Waverly are engaged (!!!); 2) Doc is back in the well, but remembers Wynonna; 3) Doc doesn’t remember Wynonna. What the what?!

I’m kind of excited to see Jeremy and Waverly interact like an engaged couple (lol) because this has all the makings of a truly hilarious and entertaining story. I did like how they bonded over the geeky things earlier in the episode (Jeremy’s Optimum Mug, how cool Komodo dragons are) so I think it will be a hoot seeing them be all geeky together and being adorkable about everything.

As for the episode, well, damn, that was packed. The biggest shock was either Waverly betraying Wynonna or Nicole being married and meeting her wife. Let’s talk about the former first. I can’t believe Waverly did that and I understand that she only wanted to help, but after all she and Wynonna have been through, she really should have trusted Wynonna to come up with a way to save Nicole. And for most of the episode, Waverly waited on Wynonna, but when Dolls gave her permission and an excuse to take matters into her own hands (by having him be the scapegoat), she took it right away. I don’t want the Earp sisters to be at odds so I hope that they make up and figure out how to get out of this mess.

The second shock of the episode left me stunned. Did not expect to find out that Nicole is married to a doctor and that they only got married after seeing Britney Live in Vegas and were high on passion and that it doesn’t mean anything. But then the question arises: if it doesn’t mean anything, why are they still married and haven’t gotten the marriage annulled? It’s good, though, that we are not going the triangle route with these three since Shay seems understanding that Nicole is in love with Waverly.

I was not a fan of how Wynonna treated Rosita in this episode with threatening to kill her if she doesn’t help them and practically ordering her to use herself as a guinea pig for Jeremy to test the anti-venom serum on her and then once this is over, kill her. What in the actual fuck, Wynonna? I know she’s the Earp heir and has been tasked with ridding the Earth of Revenants, but Rosita has been nothing but helpful towards Wynonna and her family. Hell, she helped save Dolls. Without her, Dolls wouldn’t have survived. That doesn’t count for anything?

I was so happy when Waverly immediately removed the IV from Rosita’s arm once she saw her being used as a guinea pig. Even despite the craziness going on, Waverly is still concerned for others’ safety and well-being and I love her for it. I also liked that Jeremy had qualms about using Rosita as a test subject and was only doing it because Rosita already injected the IV into her arm before he can really protest. Jeremy is a freaking saint. Love that dude.

Big ups to Nedley for not cracking after getting tortured by Widow Mercedes. I thought he was going to die in this episode so I was very glad he didn’t because I like him and the actor. I want him to be there when the team is ready to off Widow Mercedes and to help them do it.

It was nice to see the Blacksmith’s twin sister (played by the same actress who played the Blacksmith), but not very nice that she made Wynonna disappear. Someone remind me why she’s mad at the Earp sisters? Who ended up killing the Blacksmith? Was she collateral damage when Wynonna was fighting the Revenants? I don’t remember. What is she planning on doing what that hockey trophy? And what is the significance of that plate that the firemen chief gave back to Dolls?

So I’m guessing we will see Clootie back next episode now that Widow Beth has the third seal to resurrect him? Things are close to hitting the fan (if it hasn’t already). This really has been a great season and I’m so glad that it has already been renewed for a third season. I’m hoping everyone on the cast comes back next season.

One last thing: how adorable is it that Nicole’s cat is named Calamity Jane? 😄