“When people don’t tell the truth, it always ends badly”

TV Show: The Expanse
Episode Title: Dulcinea
Original Air Date: December 14, 2015
Episode Number: 1×01

Episode Description

In the outer solar system near Saturn, James Holden and the crew of the ice-freighter Canterbury, investigate a distress call from a mysterious derelict ship, the Scopuli. On Ceres Station, Detective Miller begins an off the book investigation of a missing heiress, Julie Mao

My Review

Now that I’m finished my rewatch of Fringe, it’s time to start a new show and I’ve chosen The Expanse. I’ve been hearing so many great things about this show especially when the second season was airing so that’s the main reason why I’m watching this show in the first place. I know next to nothing about this show so everything that I see here is all brand new to me.

I thought the pilot was good and I was able to follow who’s who without any confusion. There’s a lot of world-building to be done, but I thought that they did a very good job with the world that was introduced here. The three main characters (Holden, Miller, and Shohreh’s character – didn’t catch her name) all seem likable for now.

Holden was the one we spent the most time on and I thought that ending with the Canterbury ship was such a shock. Totally didn’t see that twist coming. Who knows who exactly was on that ship that fired those torpedoes. Were they really pirates from Mars? It’s too bad we lost Nygaard and the captain, but I guess it’s for there to be no relationships on the show that would just complicate things.

Really thought the missing heiress that Miller was looking for was going to be on that Scopuli ship that Holden and his crew were on. Didn’t the woman in the beginning say “Scopuli” in the back of her suit? Maybe she’s still in there?
Will the case of the missing heiress be an ongoing arc for the rest of the season? I actually thought that Miller was going to solve that case in this episode so points to the show for not having him solve it in one episode.

Shohreh’s character is not fucking around. Torturing a Belter because he was planning on causing chaos or considered a terrorist who was plotting to harm earth was such a contrast to the loving grandmother that we saw just before the scene where she faced the man. I love it.

I thought the landscape of Manhattan looked very sleek and sophisticated. Nice to see that Statue of Liberty still standing strong.

Looking forward to the rest of the episodes.

Leave a Reply

