“I’m sorry, does anyone need a back rub first?”

TV Show: The Expanse
Episode Title: The Big Empty
Original Air Date: December 15, 2015
Episode Number: 1×02

Episode Description

Holden and crew are trapped in a badly damaged shuttle. On Ceres, Miller uncovers clues about Julie Mao. On Earth, Chrisjen Avasarala questions a terrorist.

My Review

I know it’s only two episodes in, but I already love Naomi. Her becoming the default leader of the ship and telling the guys what they need to do and ordering them around was great. And they listened to her without any complaints which is awesome. She definitely reminds me a lot of Dutch from Killjoys, another badass female who’s the leader on her own ship.

It was good her crew was rescued, but it’s bad that they were rescued by a Martian ship. We haven’t met any Martian characters yet so I wonder if they’re going to be sort of the big bad of the show. Naomi and everyone on her ship are certain that the Martian ship that rescued them is probably the same one that blew up the Canterbury. Can’t wait to meet the Martians. (So funny saying that and not think of Marvin the Martian from the Looney Tunes cartoons.)

Miller continuing his investigation into the disappearance of Julie is getting more and more interesting. I laughed when he finished his shower at her apartment since he ran out of water before he was able to rinse the soap off. Interesting that he let those guys go who were stealing the water. Probably doesn’t believe that they were going to cause any real damage except ruin the greenery of the nice part of Ceres.

Chrisjen’s plan totally backfired on her, but I believe that she is right to dig deeper into that terrorist and to look into who’s really behind it. If it’s Mars, then she definitely has every right to be worried if the Belters are working together with Mars.

“When people don’t tell the truth, it always ends badly”

TV Show: The Expanse
Episode Title: Dulcinea
Original Air Date: December 14, 2015
Episode Number: 1×01

Episode Description

In the outer solar system near Saturn, James Holden and the crew of the ice-freighter Canterbury, investigate a distress call from a mysterious derelict ship, the Scopuli. On Ceres Station, Detective Miller begins an off the book investigation of a missing heiress, Julie Mao

My Review

Now that I’m finished my rewatch of Fringe, it’s time to start a new show and I’ve chosen The Expanse. I’ve been hearing so many great things about this show especially when the second season was airing so that’s the main reason why I’m watching this show in the first place. I know next to nothing about this show so everything that I see here is all brand new to me.

I thought the pilot was good and I was able to follow who’s who without any confusion. There’s a lot of world-building to be done, but I thought that they did a very good job with the world that was introduced here. The three main characters (Holden, Miller, and Shohreh’s character – didn’t catch her name) all seem likable for now.

Holden was the one we spent the most time on and I thought that ending with the Canterbury ship was such a shock. Totally didn’t see that twist coming. Who knows who exactly was on that ship that fired those torpedoes. Were they really pirates from Mars? It’s too bad we lost Nygaard and the captain, but I guess it’s for there to be no relationships on the show that would just complicate things.

Really thought the missing heiress that Miller was looking for was going to be on that Scopuli ship that Holden and his crew were on. Didn’t the woman in the beginning say “Scopuli” in the back of her suit? Maybe she’s still in there?
Will the case of the missing heiress be an ongoing arc for the rest of the season? I actually thought that Miller was going to solve that case in this episode so points to the show for not having him solve it in one episode.

Shohreh’s character is not fucking around. Torturing a Belter because he was planning on causing chaos or considered a terrorist who was plotting to harm earth was such a contrast to the loving grandmother that we saw just before the scene where she faced the man. I love it.

I thought the landscape of Manhattan looked very sleek and sophisticated. Nice to see that Statue of Liberty still standing strong.

Looking forward to the rest of the episodes.

“You are shit mother”

TV Show: Orphan Black
Episode Title: One Fettered Slave
Original Air Date: August 5, 2017
Episode Number: 5×09

Episode Description

A devastating blow must be dealt; Sarah gets carried away with Helena; The Clone Club tries to find Helena before her children are born.

My Review

I cannot not use “You are shit mother” as the title for this review!

Really thought Helena was a goner there for a second and I was ready to shed a few tears on her and the babies’ behalf so I’m glad that her plan didn’t work and that Sarah arrived just in time to save her. Really quite tragic that Helena was willing to kill herself and her babies just to save them from being experimented on. These Neolution people and PT and everyone who works for him need to die a fiery death for putting these sestras through so much hell.

Helena asking for water from Coady and then having this look on her face which Sarah sees made me smile because I just know what was coming next. Helena grabs Coady’s head and smashes it over and over against the operating table and I loved Sarah’s shocked reaction and how alarmed she was. Hee. See, I miss the dark humor that’s always present especially this season. Really hope Coady is dead and not just knocked out.

Art shooting Frontenac was awesome even though he didn’t really meant to do it. Now I can’t wait for him to shoot Enger and her smug-ass face. It’s going to be such sweet revenge. Scotty and the other guy helping in their own way was so great. I loved that even though they’re not part of the main cast, they bring something essential to the table. Even Adele helped in her own way by talking to the nun.

Very interesting to see how Helena became who she was. Did not expect that opening scene with the nun masturbating, lmao. Oh man, that was pretty damn surreal. And of course Helena was at the wrong place at the wrong time because she was hiding and eating chocolates in Sister Irina’s room. The sister bleaching Helena’s hair and punishing her for that was downright cruel. And then we see Tomas take her out of the convent to raise her and brainwash her into thinking that she’s the original and that it’s her mission to kill the copies. Jeez.

PT taking off his ugly-ass wig and losing his shit made me laugh. Nothing more entertaining than watching a caged monster panic in his cage and knowing that his time on earth is slowly diminishing. Him ordering Coady to let Mark go made me hate him even more and I can’t believe that Coady is so blinded by her loyalty to PT that she complies and kills the last of her “son”s.

It was nice to see Siobhan’s funeral in the beginning of the episode although I didn’t like that we didn’t get to see everyone’s initial reactions upon hearing about her death. I know they probably didn’t include them due to time constraints, but nevertheless, lost opportunity for the actors to flex their acting muscles.

I can’t believe there’s only one more episode left. I realize that I’m not ready for the show to end just yet.

“If a girl wants to flash some thigh, ain’t no one’s business but her own”

TV Show: Wynonna Earp
Episode Title: Forever Mine Nevermind
Original Air Date: August 4, 2017
Episode Number: 2×09

Episode Description

Wynonna asks Doc to make an impossible choice; Waverly makes a new friend while an old one terrorizes her.

My Review

Lots of interesting things happened in this episode with the most shocking of all (only because I never suspected it) was the reveal that Rosita is a revenant. I was spoiled about this before I watched the episode so I expected her to be evil so I was so glad she’s not that type of revenant. She has really been a great and necessary addition to the team, I think, and it would have been a shame if she had to leave now.

Although I love the chemistry and interactions between Rosita and Waverly, I’m not worried over that kiss. They both realized that they were in love with someone else so they stopped themselves before it went on further. I do fear that Rosita will end up getting her heart hurt because Doc is still clearly in love or has feelings for Wynonna. Add Dolls to the mix and you have a very complicated quadrangle. If I had my way, I’d have Dolls and Rosita end up together because, holy crap, I’m imagining it and I think they’d both be super hot.

We still didn’t get confirmation if Waverly is really half-revenant or not, just that she suspects it because of what the report said. They need to let us know already because I’m getting very impatient in regards to this storyline.

Did Doc and Wynonna really have to have that special dinner? Kinda weird with everyone having different expectations about this dinner. Doc thinks he’s there so they can talk about the baby and how to take care of it. Wynonna just wants Doc’s ring. Rosita is worried that she’ll probably lose Doc to Wynonna, while Dolls probably thinks that he’ll lose Wynonna to Doc. Not sure where Waverly falls on this spectrum, but I bet she’s only concerned about Wynonna’s emotional, mental, and physical well-being.

That better have been the last we’ve seen of Tucker because the guy is a fucking waste of space. I don’t get why he’s so obsessed with Waverly (I mean, I get it). He’s only introduced this season and I think that’s why I’m not buying it. It would have been better if they introduced him last season because then it wouldn’t have been so sudden.

Jeremy was such a hoot with Dolls. No matter who you pair him with, he seems to really gel well with whoever it is. Kudos to the actor and to the entire cast. All of them actually gel well with each other no matter who they’re paired with. I laughed so hard during this Jeremy exchange with Dolls:

“I’m sending you a mental hug, buddy.”
“Not right now, Jeremy. Not while I’m in tactical, okay?”
“Sorry, you sounded sad.”
“Hey! Stay put and be quiet.”
“Easy for you to say! The more nervous I get, the more I talk. The more you tell me not to talk, the more nervous I get. It is a vicious cycle.”

I’m gonna have to steal that “mental hug” line because it is perfect.

Nicole will be fine, I hope. Why did the widow go to her place? What’s there? And I cringed when Waverly sent that mean text to Nicole. I hate that they’re acting like this. They should both be mature about the situation and talk to each other. Both are to blame for the situation they are in and I loved that Rosita was being the voice of reason telling Waverly to go and get her girl.

Other random thoughts and observations:

– Every episode should start with Waverly and Wynonna sparring because that was a lot of fun. Dominique’s arms are crazy! “With great belly comes great responsibility.”

– How sweet of Dolls to give Rosita a spa gift card. We did find out later that he had ulterior motives to get her out of Shorty’s so he can go snooping and steal her formula for his cure so Jeremy can replicate it. But why? Does he not trust Rosita? Does he know she’s a revenant?

– Wynonna’s idea of dinner: macaroni and cheese (I think) and licorice, lol.

– “Is that your thing? Cute but annoying?” – Rosita to Waverly

– “I ain’t your daddy.” – Dolls to Jeremy ๐Ÿ˜…

– “Just don’t shoot any of my decorative pillows. I’ll never find the right color combination again. You repeat this convo, you die.”

– Rosita seems to be the whole package: super smart (has two degrees in biochemistry and engineering), beautiful, loyal, and gives great advice. If Doc doesn’t want her, I’ll volunteer to take care of her.

– “Perfect is overrated.”

– Jeremy’s vapor guard working against one of the widows was pretty great because he saved Dolls with his impeccable timing.

– “You’re just such an awesome person.” – Waverly to Rosita. I concur!

“I cheated fate to be with you”

TV Show: Fringe
Episode Title: An Enemy Of Fate
Original Air Date: January 18, 2013
Episode Number: 5×13

Episode Description

After Oliviaโ€™s dangerous and otherworldly journey into the unknown, she, Peter, Walter, Astrid, and Broyles face off against the Observers in one final and extraordinary battle for the fate of mankind. The five-season saga comes to an epic and emotional end in the exciting conclusion of a special two-hour series finale episode.

My Review

As much as I have complained about the decline of quality of this final season, I thought the last two episodes have been excellent and were the only two episodes that made it on my list of favorite Fringe episodes ever. I’m not even gonna lie. I cried multiple times while watching this episode and I don’t know if I should be embarrassed or proud to admit it, lol. This episode definitely tugged at the heartstrings and I thought this and the previous episode were a beautiful love letter to the fans. The ending was perfect and I couldn’t have asked for a better ending.

Walter ultimately sacrificing himself to bring Michael to the future, thus ensuring the survival of mankind and eradicating the Observers, was quite poetic. We thought September was going to do it, but then September gets shot and we’re back to the original plan of Walter going to the future with Michael.

The goodbye scene between Walter and Peter did not make me tear up until the moment when they hugged and both of them were in tears. That’s when I lost it because it felt like the actors were saying goodbye to each other and to these characters and to this show. It just seemed like a culmination of all those things and then the waterworks started for me.

Another emotional high was Walter and Astrid’s scene. It was utter perfection and I cried buckets of tears. Astrid showing Walter an amber-ed Gene was so touching and Walter telling her that “You always know how to soothe me. You always have.” And then we got this exchange between them:

“It’s a beautiful name.”
“What is?”
“Astrid.”

Their relationship has always been one of my favorites and I’m so happy they were able to have this scene because they never did get a goodbye scene. Walter didn’t tell Astrid that he was going with Michael so it broke my heart when Astrid talked about working with Walter in the lab and drinking milkshakes when time resets. I kinda wish that we got a goodbye scene between Walter and Olivia.

How freaking awesome was that moment where Olivia turns off all the lights in the city and draws enough power to smash Windmark in between two cars?! I fucking cheered. That bastard deserved that so much and I’m thrilled that Olivia was the one who killed him, avenging Etta’s death. Olivia might have been unfairly sidelined this entire season, but these last two episodes she hasn’t been so I’m happy. Still doesn’t forgive why she was AWOL and a non-factor (to an extent) for the first 11 episodes, though.

Loved Peter and Olivia letting loose all kinds of Fringe events inside the Observers’ headquarters and it was definitely a cool way to showcase the craziness and the weirdness of the cases that the team worked on in past seasons. Even better that their plan to grab a cube from the headquarters allowed them to save Broyles. I’m so happy Broyles made it out alive. I didn’t want him to go the way of Nina and September (and December).

I cried some more when the plan worked and they were successful in resetting time and we got our happy ending. We cut to the opening scene of this season with Olivia and Peter watching Etta play in the park and this time, we didn’t get the Observers’ invasion. The last scene of the show ending on a picture of a white tulip was perfect. White tulips will forever be associated with Fringe in my mind. I still remember when the fans held up those cards with white tulips during Fringe’s last year at Comic Con. It was a beautiful thing to behold.

Rewatching this show has reinforced why it’s one of my favorite top five shows ever and also why Olivia Dunham is my favorite TV character ever. I have so much love and affection for this show, these characters, these actors, these stories, and just the overall craziness and weirdness of it all. Thank you to everyone involved for crafting a beautiful show.

Other random thoughts and observations:

– “You are my favorite thing, Peter. My very favorite thing.” ๐Ÿ˜ญ

– Loved that Astrid was the one who thought up the idea of using the cube to get the device started. “You’re a genius!”

– “Peter, hold on to these tight. Anti-gravity osmium bullets. Shoot Observers with these and watch them float away like balloons.”
“If we shoot ’em dead, why do we want ’em to float away?”
“Because it’s cool.”
“That makes sense, Walter.”

Never change, Walter.

– “I was gonna let her out, but I was afraid they were going to hear her moo.”
“Yes, she does moo quite loudly. Especially after a meal.”

So cute.

– I laughed when Windmark told Broyles that he was feeling hate and then Broyles tells him “The feeling is mutual.”

– For anyone in the US interested in re/watching this show, you can go watch it on the Go90 site. You can watch the show for free (no need to sign up) and in glorious HD. Believe me when I tell you that watching Anna Torv in HD is glorious.

“Get your daughter back”

TV Show: Fringe
Episode Title: Liberty
Original Air Date: January 18, 2013
Episode Number: 5×12

Episode Description

The acclaimed series that has explored the human condition through the prism of parallel universes, unexplainable phenomena, and unimaginable threats, nears its epic and climactic conclusion. First, the Fringe team engages a desperate plan as Olivia embarks on a dangerous and otherworldly journey into the unknown. The five-season saga nears its epic and emotional end in the first part of a special two-hour series finale episode.

My Review

This was an Alison Schapker-written episode so I just knew that it was going to be an Olivia-centric episode and that it will be a great one and I was right on both counts. Olivia volunteering to have herself injected with Cortexiphan so she can cross over to the alternate universe and then grab and save Michael was a genius plan. Also a genius plan was Astrid’s suggestion that they should use the mirror to the alternate universe to see how it’s like on the other side and if it’s safe.

It was pretty tough watching Olivia endure four shots of Cortexiphan right into her brain stem, damn. I was cringing throughout that whole scene. Walter showed such resolve and never wavered once while injecting all those shots into Olivia even though everyone else was telling him to stop. He knew that that’s exactly the amount of Cortexiphan she would need to complete her mission.

The episode made me tear up several times and had me crying at one point. The first scene that made me tear up was when Walter hugged Olivia and kissed her on the forehead before she crossed over. The second time I teared up was when Peter and Olivia told each other “I love you.” They got me there. The third time I teared up was after Olivia came back with Michael and Peter and Olivia are in the back of the van looking so relieved.

No surprise, the one scene that made me cry where tears actually streamed down my face was seeing AltLivia and Lincoln again and Olivia meeting them again after 21 years. What an amazing scene and it just reminded me of how great this show used to be with the introduction of the alternate universe. So much wasted potential when the bridge was shut down between the universes.

AltLivia and Lincoln being happily married and having a son made me so happy that they both found each other. Lincoln made the right decision when he stayed behind the alternate universe. Loved AtlLivia teasing Lincoln: “You can stop checking out my young ass.” LMAO. Speaking of, AltLivia didn’t look that much older than Olivia. How old was she supposed to be? Mid to late 40s, possibly early 50s? She didn’t look a day older than Olivia!

Seeing Olivia kick ass using her powers was pretty awesome. We saw her harness her telekinetic powers again and of course her abilities to cross over. Every time Olivia gets to shoot Observers, an angel gets its wings. Loved that she was still able to shoot the Observers even though she was hovering between two universes.

Windmark reading Michael and then getting a nosebleed and one of his eyes turning red was sweet, sweet karma. Loved that he came back for a second time and then left again when Michael induced another nosebleed from him. I really hope that Broyles will be safe now that Windmark knows he’s loyal to the resistance. I cracked up at Broyles’ earlier scene with that Loyalist Windmark questioned: “Are you suggesting that I might be the dove? I’m more of a raven, don’t you think?” ๐Ÿ˜…

September building the machine was great to see; he didn’t even wait for the team to get back because he knows they don’t have much time left. Seeing December in the last scene (in apartment 513 – I see what you did there, show) was a surprise! Where does December’s loyalties lie?

Other random thoughts and observations:

– Another reason to hate the Observers: they destroyed the Statue of Liberty and the only thing that’s left is the pedestal and part of her feet.

– Walter’s new nickname for Astrid: Asgard (Thor shoutout?).

– In the alternate universe in the year 2036, Chelsea Clinton is running for president and was leading the polls according to that news bulletin.

– Walternate is 90 years old and is still teaching in Harvard.

– I thought it was adorable when Michael smiled slightly when Olivia found him.

– Series finale next!