“I would be lying if I said I wasn’t frightened”

TV Show: Fringe
Episode Title: The Boy Must Live
Original Air Date: January 11, 2013
Episode Number: 5×11

Episode Description

As time dramatically ticks down toward the end of this acclaimed series, Peter, Olivia, and Walter stop at nothing to save the universe from Observer rule. Walter enters the infamous deprivation tank in an attempt to uncover a key piece of information about the mysterious figure, Donald. Meanwhile, Captain Windmark sets out on a revealing mission of his own as long-standing questions are answered.

My Review

I know September’s exposition was necessary, but damn, were those minutes the most boring moments of this show or what? Olivia was so bored she got up to take a drink (I know she had a revelation that if the plan worked and it would reset time, then there’s a chance they’ll get Etta back) that I almost laughed because I felt the same way!

The plan seems to be solid, but there seems to be way too many variables that are out of the team’s control that it would almost seem impossible that they will succeed. So they want to send Michael to the future to prove to the scientists hundreds of years in the future that they don’t have to sacrifice emotion for intelligence. This would mean that the Observers will not come to existence and that they wouldn’t invade Earth in 2015. Then this will lead for everything to be reset (apparently). Within all this, Walter is supposed to sacrifice himself in order for the plan to work.

The Walter/Peter scene was supposed to left us emotional, but it left me with a feeling of “Umm, okay then. Next scene, please.” I think the show has not hit a lot of emotional beats like it has done so well in previous seasons. I’m just not feeling the same emotional investment as I did before and it sucks because I still care about these characters.

Even the white tulip scene with September/Donald and Walter should have made quite an emotional impact, but it left me feeling bored (it pains me to say this). Ah well, these episodes can’t all be winners.

Was not a fan of the “The boy is important. He must live.” statement being somewhat of a retcon, but thinking about it, maybe it did apply to Peter and Michael. Also, how exactly did September father Michael?

Why did Michael step off the train? What’s he up to that he wanted to get himself captured by Windmark?

Lastly, Olivia getting an eyeful of Walter naked in the tank was definitely the most hilarious scene in the episode. “Are you feeling sufficiently free and open now?”

“In reality, you’re the animal”

TV Show: Fringe
Episode Title: Anomaly XB-6783746
Original Air Date: December 21, 2012
Episode Number: 5×10

Episode Description

As the countdown to the climactic series finale continues, the Fringe team is running out of time to save the world. As Peter, Olivia, Astrid, and Walter scramble to tap into a key piece of the puzzle to defeat the Observers, they enlist the aid of Nina Sharp who conjures up a plan.

My Review

Donald is September? Wow, did not see that coming. And yes, I swear I watched this season when it first aired (I know I probably sound like a broken record at this point, lmao). How did he become Donald? Or did Donald come first and he became an Observer? I don’t understand and I have so many questions! At least this season is starting to get very interesting now.

RIP, Nina Sharp. You died a valiant death. She really has been an important ally to the Fringe team because every time they needed some kind of tech or scientific know-how, she was always there for them. The fact that she believed in the cause and shot herself to protect them was admirable. You done good, Nina. I wonder what Michael showed her when he touched her face.

Loved that Nina proved how much of a boss she was, baiting Windmark like that and telling him that he’s similar to a lizard and that they’re the animals.

It broke my heart seeing Walter’s reaction to Nina’s corpse. Then my heart broke again when Olivia was holding Nina’s hand and was sobbing right next to Walter. 😭

Interesting to learn that Michael, as per Windmark, is “a chromosomal mistake” and “an anomaly.” Sure, Jan. He’s still a much better person than you’ll ever hope to be.

Walter’s new nickname for Astrid: Acid. 😄

“I’m into it”

TV Show: Killjoys
Episode Title: Necropolis Now
Original Air Date: August 4, 2017
Episode Number: 3×06

Episode Description

As Johnny faces off with someone from his past, Dutch faces her own personal hell.

My Review

I find it interesting that two SyFy shows (Killjoys and Wynonna Earp) incorporated real-life pregnancies of their actors (Mayko Nguyen and Melanie Scrofano) into their shows. And on both shows, the way they wove the pregnancies into the stories were very cool.

I’m not exactly sure what Kendry’s pregnancy means on the show or how she got pregnant (can’t be from having sex with Aneela, can it?). Maybe because they’re both Hullens, they’re not like humans and same sex couples can get pregnant in a matter of one night? I know I can’t wait to find out what the hells is going on with this story.

Aneela going apeshit and killing everyone on her ship (except loyal Brynn) was pretty damn cool to see. I know the show has mentioned before that Hullens don’t do feelings so I trust that they have a reason as to why Aneela is so affected by losing Kendry.

Fucking Gander. Traitor to the end. I hope that was his death that we saw and he won’t get resurrected again. Can’t believe that all along Aneela was the Hullens’ prisoner and they were just observing and studying her to see what she can provide for the Hullens.

Johnny’s scenes with Louella were pretty touching and I’m glad that they both were able to move on after that conversation regarding being affected by Pawter’s death. I still miss Pawter and was so sad to see her die.

Really hope the Nine help fund Dutch’s war because right now, there’s no way her team can beat the Hullens. That male member of the Nine was such a dick and couldn’t wait to get out of hanging out with the commoners. Although, I did laugh at him saying “Well, this was fun, but I hate it here.”

So Zeph found that the Remnant stored Dutch’s memories (or it could be Aneela’s memories, too). I’m not exactly sure what this means. It’s hard to come up with theories regarding this show because when you expect them to zig, they zag. Zeph had great timing, though, so I applaud her for busting in on Dutch and D’avin’s talk time. I really hope the show doesn’t go back in that well because they are so much better off as friends.

Both of these lines of dialogue cracked me up:

“Analog would be cute if it wasn’t so useless.”
“You don’t know analog?”
“You know how to fire a musket?”

“What do you know about elevators?”
“There’s five on the estate and if one breaks, I call someone.”

“You’ve been him longer than you’ve been you”

TV Show: Fringe
Episode Title: Black Blotter
Original Air Date: December 14, 2012
Episode Number: 5×09

Episode Description

In an attempt to recall his plan to defeat the Observers, Walter takes an LSD trip down memory lane in search of answers. Meanwhile, Peter and Olivia trace a mysterious signal into the woods, where they come upon a grisly scene.

My Review

I really enjoyed this mostly because of Walter’s acid-inspired mind trips. My favorite had to be his animated self riding Gene (!!!) to the bottom of that hill and remembering the password being Black Umbrella. I thought it was so well-done and made me crack up at how weird Walter’s tripped-up mind is.

His conversations with the “devil” (Carla) and the “angel” (Nina) on his shoulders was also a nice touch. Interesting that Carla was pushing him to go over that one last hurdle to fully become the Walter of old while Nina is trying to hold him back and tells him that he’s better off as the Walter that she’s familiar with.

One interesting note: it takes high on acid Walter to call Astrid by her correct name. 😄 Loved their scene in the beginning when he tells her that she has beautiful hair and Astrid is struck dumb and just says “Thanks.”

Even Peter and Olivia are in a somewhat happy place now, with no more secrets between them. Peter telling Olivia that he doesn’t deserve her (true that) and how she amazes him and how lucky he is was all very sweet. I have missed that deep connection and love between them.

Loved Olivia’s sharpshooting skills on display when they got ambushed by Loyalists at the docks. Peter is shooting at the guy non-stop while it only takes Olivia two shots to take the guy out. That’s my girl!

It was great to have the child Observer meet the team again. I’ve always enjoyed Olivia’s interaction and relationship with the boy. I smiled when Olivia told him the story about Etta saying that her favorite hot cocoa is the one that Olivia makes and then cut to the child Observer taking a sip.

Sam Weiss being mentioned was very cool. He died a valiant death by protecting the antenna that was boosting the signal. RIP, Sam Weiss.

“I know that because I’m an anomaly”

TV Show: Fringe
Episode Title: The Human Kind
Original Air Date: December 7, 2012
Episode Number: 5×08

Episode Description

Olivia encounters a very intuitive and oracle-like person named Simone as she looks to recover a key piece of equipment for Walter. Meanwhile, Peter finds himself in a perilous situation as he observes Windmark.

My Review

FINALLY! An Olivia-centric episode and of course it was written by Alison Schapker. She’s definitely right up there as probably my favorite Fringe writer together with Monica Owusu-Breen so when I saw Alison’s name in the credits, I was very happy and this episode didn’t disappoint and probably my favorite episode so far this season.

Olivia got to save herself, kick some ass, channel her inner MacGyver, obtain the magnet that Walter needs to save the world, share scenes with Fringe fan Jill Scott, and she was able to convince Peter to stop this revenge path he’s on before it’s too late. That’s a superhero, if there ever was one. And it’s all in a day’s work.

Loved how she devised that “gun” using the bullet that killed her and which Etta saved in order to save herself. Talk about coming full circle. I have missed Olivia kicking ass and shooting bad guys. It only took eight episodes, but better late than never, I guess.

The last Olivia/Peter scene had a bit of cringe-worthy/cheesy dialogue, but I’ll let it slide because Alison wrote the episode and I can’t say a bad thing about her. I got teared up when we saw Peter flashing through the happy memories he had of Olivia, Walter, and Etta. That was a very effective way to remind the audience about how much all of these characters have gone through.

I thought Olivia telling Simone that her faith and her ability are not real/fake was COLD, lol. Good thing Simone was not frazzled and didn’t think much of whatever Olivia believed or didn’t believe. “You can’t know everything.” Foreshadowing in regards to the Observers’ ability to see everything?

Walter’s new name for Astrid: Asner. 😄

“I’m becoming the man I was”

TV Show: Fringe
Episode Title: Five Twenty Ten
Original Air Date: November 16, 2012
Episode Number: 5×07

Episode Description

As the fight for the future intensifies, a member of the Fringe team orchestrates a game-changing Fringe event of his own.

My Review

Well, I’m just glad that Olivia finally knows the truth about Peter and what he did to avenge Etta. I was getting uncomfortable with Peter lying to her throughout this episode so it was a relief that he finally told her everything. Now it’s time for Olivia to knock some sense into him.

Walter telling Nina that the reason Bell didn’t have any trouble leaving her was because he didn’t love her was COLD so I was happy that he turned out to be wrong when he saw Nina’s picture in Bell’s safe. Even happier that he returned to apologize to her for being an asshole earlier.

So we have both Bishops losing their identities and becoming someone else: Walter is conflicted and wants Nina to remove the pieces of his brain so he doesn’t become the man he doesn’t want to be. Meanwhile, Peter doesn’t seem worried that he’s turning into an Observer and is feeling less and less as the days pass.

Not thrilled about Peter’s storyline at all mostly because the whole season is turning into Peter’s story and I absolutely hate it. I get he’s grieving, but what about Olivia? Why isn’t the show focusing on that, too? It’s not enough that Olivia lost her daughter, now she’ll lose her husband, too. Non-stop torture.

Best part of the episode was Nina and Olivia’s reunion. I’ve forgotten that they haven’t reunited in 2036 yet. I think Blair was crying over the fact that Anna is no longer the star of the show. 😛 She has said in an interview early last year that this show was originally about a female protagonist and turned into a show about father and son. We feel you, Blair!

Walter’s new nickname for Astrid: Agnes.