“You have made a grave mistake”

TV Show: Fringe
Episode Title: Through The Looking Glass
Original Air Date: November 9, 2012
Episode Number: 5×06

Episode Description

Walter follows leads to a key piece needed to defeat the Observers, while a member of the Fringe team takes on a new role.

My Review

Yet another boring episode. This season has been a complete disappointment so far and I hate saying that because Fringe is on my list of top five shows ever. Really hope the rest of the season steps up to the awesomeness of past seasons.

The Walter and Peter scene in the end was good, but I just didn’t feel as much emotion as I did during their emotional scenes in previous seasons. Really hope Walter gets out of that mentality and just focus on saving the world.

Peter is turning into an Observer. Okay.

Peter and Olivia leaving Astrid behind in our universe without even saying anything before they went into the pocket universe was a bit of a wtf moment. If I was Astrid, I would have been so pissed. So glad she didn’t get hurt when that Observer attacked her. Also, that Observer was stupid because instead of knocking Astrid out, he could have read her mind and gotten the info. Dumbass.

Best part of the episode was Olivia going from the pocket universe back into our universe and shooting that Observer dead. How cool/badass was that?! More of that Olivia, please.

It was great that they brought back the child Observer. Donald definitely has him hidden somewhere. Still no clue as to who this Donald person is.

“The pain is her legacy to you both”

TV Show: Fringe
Episode Title: An Origin Story
Original Air Date: November 2, 2012
Episode Number: 5×05

Episode Description

The Fringe Team responds to recent devastating events by going on the offensive, while one of the key members makes a pivotal and shocking move.

My Review

I know there are still eight episodes left in season five, but I’m so mad at the show for pushing Olivia into the background and relegating her to the “mom” and “wife” role. The show and the writers have crafted such an amazing character in Olivia and for them to throw all of that away is such a waste. There’s so much more potential for her, but it looks like the writers are hellbent on putting Peter in the forefront and have him be the hero instead of our resident hero since episode one: Olivia Dunham. Of course, this is just my biased opinion.

Did we see Olivia do anything in this episode except silently grieve for Etta and plead with Peter to come home and that she doesn’t want to lose him again? Yes, we saw her save Peter’s life, but apart from that, she was being the “mom” and the “wife” (not that there’s anything wrong with those roles). I wonder how Anna Torv felt while filming this last season and how her role was diminished significantly. Someone needs to ask her about that.

So now Peter is going to be an Observer? Sure. If the plot dictates it, so be it. I get that he’s angry about Etta dying and wants revenge, but instead of going down this path, why not work on the relationships that he still has and tend to those relationships with the people who are still here? He can still “avenge” Etta’s death by not turning into an Observer.

I think the only bright spot of this season (so far) is Walter’s various nicknames for Astrid. In this episode, he called her “Abner.” Loved how Astrid figured out the Observer code. Hell, even her is doing a lot more important work than Olivia. I’m not angry at Astrid, I’m angry at the writers for doing Olivia wrong.

Torv was really great in that scene where she’s watching the tape of one of Etta’s birthdays. She’s probably crying over the fact that her role sucks this season. 😛 (Me? Bitter? Nooooo.)

“If you want to make God laugh, tell him your plans”

TV Show: Fringe
Episode Title: The Bullet That Saved The World
Original Air Date: October 26, 2012
Episode Number: 5×04

Episode Description

When the Fringe Team tracks a lead into a hostile and heavily guarded location, Phillip Broyles resurfaces, but can he be trusted? Pivotal and emotional events unfold.

My Review

Full disclosure, I don’t remember that Etta was killed off so early in the season…also, I barely remember how this show ended and if the team was successful in defeating the Observers. I’m not sure what happened, but maybe I disliked the season so much that I’ve blocked everything about it? This can’t be good.

In any case, I think this might have been my favorite episode of the season so far. Broyles’ reunion with Olivia was EVERYTHING and I fucking cried happy tears. “Agent Dunham.” “Phillip.” 😭 We can safely assume that Olivia is and will always be his best agent. I loved that he recognized Etta to be Olivia’s daughter just from behind and that Etta recruited him to the resistance and taught him how to block the Observers from reading his mind. One big happy family.

And of course, after that happy reunion, shit hit the fan and Etta dies at the hands of Windmark. Fucking Windmark. I can’t believe he escaped. Etta was so close to killing him. Oh man. That death hurt. A lot. Etta remembered the last happy memory she had with her parents before the Observers took over everything and it made me tear up so bad. I teared up some more when Olivia and Peter went to her. Olivia is definitely the stronger person because she didn’t even react that emotionally compared to Peter. I’m glad she got to tell Etta that she loves her (“I know”). Peter completely losing it and saying that he can’t lose her again was heartbreaking to see. They totally would haven’t left Etta’s side if she didn’t set off that bomb. Even when she’s dying, she’s still protecting her family.

It was a trip to see all the mementos that the team worked on during their Fringe investigating years. They brought back the most horrific (well, one of many) way for a person to die when they gassed those loyalists and Observers with the virus that closes all of a person’s orifices. Gruesome.

Other random thoughts and observations:

– It was a minor scene, but I loved that Broyles had a picture of Olivia and Peter in his briefcase.

– I noticed that Alison Schapker wrote this episode by herself. She usually co-wrote episodes together with Monica Owusu-Breen so I wonder why they didn’t write this together.

– Walter’s new nickname Astrid: Astrif. I don’t think it’s even a word, lol.