“Aren’t all the best love stories tragedies?”

TV Show: Fringe
Episode Title: The Abducted
Original Air Date: November 18, 2010
Episode Number: 3×07

Episode Description

When a serial kidnapper “over there” strikes again, the emotional and familiar case hits home for Colonel Broyles, sending a determined Olivia to uncover additional details about the abductions. In the meantime, Olivia fights on and reunites with Henry to enlist his services on an intense and covert mission to return home.

My Review

OMG……….this episode has left me speechless. It was too freaking awesomely mind-blowing that I can’t seem to figure out how to start off this review. I find it hilarious that I’m reacting this way since I’ve already seen this episode before already and yet, here I am, still shocked and surprised as if it’s the first time I’ve watched the episode.

I think the reason why I love this episode so much is because it was the perfect Olivia episode and showcased why she’s my favorite character ever in TV or movies. I don’t think anyone will come close to that title because Olivia just owns my heart completely and absolutely. Rewatching this show has rekindled my love for her and she has cemented her place on the top of that list.

Olivia cracking the case almost single-handedly was so fucking impressive and showed us just how brilliant of an agent she is. Her standing up to AltBroyles and not backing down when he told her that no way is she getting close to Christopher was terrific. Hell, I was so fucking intimidated by AltBroyles just watching him, but Olivia just stood there and didn’t let him faze her. Balls of steel!

Olivia figuring out that the Candy Man was draining the pituitary glands of his victims to keep himself young was right on the money thanks to an old case she worked on with her Fringe Division that she remembered and which flummoxed Lincoln for a second. She also figured out that there was only one suspect and that the old and the young man were one and the same, thanks to her conversation with Christopher.

Olivia was also the one to rescue Max and the one to shoot the Candy Man thanks to her quick thinking and seeing the doll in the Candy Man’s apartment. I noticed right away when she said that she was from the FBI when she told Max that he’s safe now and I liked that it was brought back in the end of the episode. Max saying “When I grow up, I want to be FBI, too” was very sweet.

Olivia was also the one to realize that the reverend was working with the Candy Man and that he was the scientist behind all the science so she alerts AltBroyles just in time for him to shoot the reverend and save his wife and son. Hell, she put off going back to her universe to save the kid despite knowing that her time is slowly ticking in this universe and that she’s no longer safe. The selflessness Olivia exhibited here is unparalleled and just makes me admire her even more.

AltBroyles being told by Walternate at the beginning of this episode that they won’t be needing Olivia anymore gave me goosebumps. However, I think Olivia’s actions in this episode definitely raised AltBroyles’ impression of this Olivia and she earned his respect. Him ignoring her FBI conversation with Max is a start and I hope that he’ll be an ally when Olivia needs him to escape from Walternate.

So great to see Henry again! His exasperation at Olivia leaving the pier when time is supposed to be of the essence was amusing since I know that he’s not really exasperated with her. Kudos to him for being so patient and for trusting Olivia despite the craziness of her entire story. Heck, he didn’t even know how to operate a boat and yet here he is risking being arrested by the Department of Defense to help this woman that he barely knows. You are a hero in your own right, Henry Higgins.

It’s too bad that Walternate got to Olivia before she can fully cross over and she’s now found out and it’s not looking good for her situation. Walternate’s face was scary as hell and John Noble plays that look so well because it’s the same look he used while playing Denethor on Lord of the Rings.

I was FUCKING REJOICING when Olivia was successful in passing her message on to that woman and then that woman passing it on to Peter. 🙌 “Her name was Olivia. She’s trapped in the other universe.” YES!!!! The fallout in the next episode is going to be so damn good. I can’t wait!

Other random observations:

– AltBroyles telling Olivia “I won’t forget what you did here” after they got the Candy Man seemed like it was his way of saying goodbye and thanking her for everything she’s done with this case and on the other cases.

– Fauxlivia and Peter watching Casablanca and her falling asleep and saying that Ronald Reagan is in it made me laugh. Come on, Peter. Even after this, you still didn’t suspect anything?!

– I also laughed at Henry’s “of course” reaction when Olivia said that she memorized the patrol’s route when she escaped from Liberty Island, lol.

– Lincoln bringing Olivia red vines and telling her they’re new was interesting.

– “I’m from a parallel universe” – Olivia saying this to Henry before she jumps off the boat, thus confounding the man one last time.

Leave a Reply

