“I’m trying to make the cow make chocolate milk”

TV Show: Fringe
Episode Title: The Box
Original Air Date: September 30, 2010
Episode Number: 3×02

Episode Description

The story alternates to the Fringe Team “over here” where they investigate a mystifying case that people are discovered in a trance-like state that ultimately leads to their death. The unlikely suspect: a mysterious box. As Peter and Walter collaborate to study its properties, alternate Olivia presses on and turns up the heat on an unsuspecting Peter. Meanwhile, key information about the future is revealed when Walter and Nina meet at Massive Dynamic for the emotional reading of the last will and testament of William Bell.

My Review

Okay, I’m in a bit of a dilemma. I love Anna Torv. I love Olivia Dunham. I do not like Fauxlivia Dunham AT ALL. I don’t remember disliking her this much when I first watched this season, but now I’m totally not on board with her being an antagonist and a spy within the team. I know she wasn’t told the whole truth about this supposed war between the two worlds and what Walternate’s real plan is, but still, I can’t help but dislike her. Kudos to Torv because it takes a LOT to make me hate a Torv character. Whatever she’s doing with Fauxlivia to make her unlikeable, it’s working perfectly.

I think part of my dislike about Fauxlivia is the fact that she makes for a poor impersonator of our Olivia because there are certain aspects of her personality and mannerisms that don’t jibe with our Olivia and it’s annoying me. Granted, it has only been a few days since she’s been on this mission and she hardly knows what Olivia is really like, but Peter’s assessment of Olivia in the second season (about how Olivia always feels like she needs to right a wrong and how she burdens herself with other people’s problems) should have been a light bulb moment for Fauxlivia to temper her own lightheartedness and be more brooding like the real Olivia.

I was going to give this whole plan with the box a side eye because why would these devices be over here instead of over there if these are going to be used to build the device, but then they explained it pretty well in the end. Of course they’re sending the tech here so that Peter can familiarize himself and continue to work with them while over here. And whatever information or intel he gleans from this, he will sure to pass it to the rest of the Fringe team which just so happens to include the other side’s agent in Fauxlivia. It actually is kinda brilliant. And of course they had to have the Fringe team investigate the case so why not kill a few innocent people in the process to get their attention?

Fauxlivia putting Newton in his place and telling him that this is her operation and that he works for her was the one Fauxlivia scene that I actually liked. And of course her saving Peter which I think she did because he’s Walternate’s son and that he’s essential to making this doomsday device work. If Peter would have died, it would have been on her. Her killing that poor guy in her apartment was way too extreme. There was no need for that. Her dumping his body in her bathroom was also pretty sloppy especially when his blood started seeping underneath the bathroom door. What if Peter wanted to go to the bathroom before leaving the apartment?

Did not like the Polivia makeout session on her couch because it’s ALL A LIE. I bet shippers were wringing their hands in agony when this scene happened, lol. I can certainly sympathize with them. Dammit, Peter! Why can’t you see this is not your Olivia??! She exhibits an interest in music and he even comments that for as long as he’s known her, she hasn’t shown any interest in music. Fauxlivia is a smooth liar though, with her saying that ever since they got back, she’s been looking at things a little differently especially after meeting the other side’s Olivia.

Bell leaving Walter Massive Dynamic behind left me speechless. “He left me Massive Dynamic. I’m the sole shareholder.” I love this turn of events. I’m left to wonder what Bell left Nina then aside from that bell (heh, very pun-ny). Btw, how much do I love that 1) Walter knows where Astrid lives and 2) he told her what Bell left him and not Peter? That made my heart sing because I enjoy the Astrid/Walter dynamic so much.

Walter finally talking to Peter about that day was a long time coming, but I feel like it was a bit anticlimactic and the emotional payoff didn’t land as well as I would have expected. I don’t know, it just fell flat for me.

Other random thoughts:

– Newton removing Fauxlivia’s neck tattoo with that gadget was pretty nifty. Leaving no marks or scars or burns.

– “Who’s Bone-O?” LOL.

– “These cacao beans. They’re inedible. Gene will never be able to digest them.”
“She’s a cow, Walter. She could probably digest the frying pan.”
Never change, Walter.

– We got a new Astrid nickname: Aspirin!

– “You got photographic memory. How am I gonna do that?” Yeah, try to fake your way out of that one, Fauxlivia!

– Did not really need to see that closeup of the brain as Walter was taking it out of the man’s head and also did not need to see that man’s head explode in the subway tracks.

– “Begin work on Dr. Bishop.” WHAAAAT. Don’t you dare touch Walter, Fauxlivia.

Leave a Reply

