“Oh my God, this family”

TV Show: Orphan Black
Episode Title: Let the Children & the Childbearers Toil
Original Air Date: July 1, 2017
Episode Number: 5×04

Episode Description

Following up on intel from a mysterious source, Mrs. S heads on the road with Sarah to investigate a lead on a Neolution defector. Meanwhile, an unexpected reunion takes place on the island, while Cosima’s research leads her to a terrible discovery.

My Review

At this point, I’m just waiting to see how everything unfolds and for us to finally get answers and to watch the characters interact and for Tatiana to do her usual magic. I’m not even going to try to think too hard about the plot because it became way too convoluted and twisty starting in season three.

I know what’s going on, but really, I just don’t care that much? It’s sad because I really loved this show in season one and season two and when the Castors were introduced, that’s when my enthusiasm for the show slowly diminished.

So Susan, PT, and Virginia were all working together to play God and alter genetics as we know it. Susan led Leda and Virginia led Castor, but Susan found out what Virginia was doing with her Castors so she conspired to have their compound blown up and to have Virginia institutionalized. Never a dull moment on this show! And now it turns out that Susan is alive (PT saved her) and will be working with PT and will monitor Rachel’s tests with Kira. Alrighty then.

Meanwhile, Cosima finds out what those three were up to in the early days and now knows that the bear/monster in the woods was really a person who was the first experiment those three were doing that had gone very wrong. What is Mud’s tie to him, though?

Kira is starting to annoy me…either the character or the actress playing her, I can’t really tell. Maybe it’s a combination of both. I should feel bad for saying this, but the actress is not very good. It’s unfortunate that the story will probably hinge on her because we’d be subjected to more scenes of her trying to “emote.”

Siobhan was definitely the highlight of the episode for me with her vague plans and getting shit done. I loved the seamless con they pulled on that doctor and how Siobhan didn’t miss a beat when Sarah started arguing with her and throwing the bourbon on her face, hee. Like mother, like daughter.

I’m pretty sure it’s Delphine who fed this information to Siobhan since we didn’t get any follow-up after Delphine showed up at Siobhan’s house. What I don’t understand and what really irks me is that why can’t Siobhan just tell everyone what her plans are? This way it will avoid misunderstanding and confusion when something goes awry. What’s so secret that Delphine asked her not to tell Sarah? Was it Virginia she was referring to?

I agree with Felix that it was not Siobhan’s call to tell Adele about the clones and their problems, but at the same time, it’s actually a pretty genius idea. Good thing that Adele is willing to help and didn’t even question the absurd story that was laid out for her. I wonder how much she knows. Should be a lot of fun seeing Adele and Felix gallivanting in Switzerland.

The Sarah/Helena scene was very sweet. Sarah apologizing to Helena about treating her badly was nice and how Helena didn’t think much of how she was treated. I giggled at Helena when she said that after the babies are born that they would go on a killing spree. Classic Helena.

Scott and the other guy helping Siobhan and the gang are cool people. They’re essential to the team, too, so I hope nothing happens to them after all of this is over.

Lastly, it was great seeing Jeremy from Wynonna Earp playing the employee at that psychiatric facility. I knew it was him the moment I heard his voice.

Leave a Reply

