“Sometimes I wish we were still in the basement”

TV Show: Pretty Little Liars
Episode Title: Til DeAth Do Us pArt
Original Air Date: June 27, 2017
Episode Number: 7×20

Episode Description

In the series finale of Pretty Little Liars, all is revealed as the ultimate endgame comes to light.

My Review

Hunker down, people, because this is going to be super long (don’t say I didn’t warn you).

Was that an amazing ending to the show or what? I certainly think so. Look, we’ve all had issues with the show and have been complaining about the lack of answers through the entire seven seasons and how ridiculous and frustrating some of the storylines were, but I think they did a fantastic job answering most of our questions (and probably retconned some of the scenes to suit the ending). I couldn’t have asked for a better ending, to be honest.

I’m going to list my top two favorite moments from the finale and the rest will just be in random order.

My very favorite moment was, without a doubt, that ending with Mona. It was totally perfect. Mona is my favorite character so I’m super stoked she got a happy ending and she finally beat the game. She definitely is still not right in the head with her keeping Mary Drake and Alex locked up in her underground dollhouse dungeon, but it’s all good because she won in the end. Hell, she seems to have a pretty good life living in France and running her own doll store and she has a boyfriend, too.

I’m still smiling because I can’t believe my favorite character had the best ending ever, lol. I fist pumped when she told everyone that she was playing to beat the game. EPIC. Also loved that she called 911 before they went to Alex’s lair. That’s my girl. Smart and always on top of everything. Back up a bit…I just read that the cop who showed up to arrest Alex is actually Mona’s boyfriend and this was all part of her plan to kidnap both Alex and Mary to hold them hostage. BRILLIANT!

My second favorite moment was a close second: it was the scene with the moms (sans Pam) reminiscing about their time being locked in the basement! This has been a huge question for some reason among fans (particularly in the Previously.TV forum) so I can only imagine the reactions this scene got, lol. And true to PLL fashion, they didn’t reveal how they got out of the basement! We did find out that Pam didn’t drink for a year after that so we can surmise that they probably passed the time drinking and getting wasted down there. 😄

Also loved the three of them getting wasted at the wedding rehearsal and roping Spencer in to be their designated drivers. Ella shouting “I call shotgun!” as they were coming down the steps was hilarious. Now I kinda want a spinoff with the PLL moms.

Now on to the other storylines…not shocked about Spencer having a twin since I have read a few theories about this so there goes that surprise. And as much as I love Troian, I didn’t find her British accent that convincing, but kudos to her for trying anyway. Kudos to her for also doing double duty in this episode. That last scene where Spencer and Alex were wrestling on the ground and then trying to convince Toby that they were the real Spencer? Great stuff.

So Charlotte really was A and then when she died, Alex came to Rosewood and became AD because she wanted to Single White Female Spencer. Yeah, crazy definitely runs in that family. The info dump scene with Alex and a jailed Spencer was just okay. At that point, I didn’t really care anymore about the who/what/how/why because we had the identity of AD. I just feel bad for Wren who ended up being collateral damage in Alex’s plan to SWF Spencer. So fucked up how she probably killed him and is wearing his ashes on her necklace. What kind of fucked up shit is that? At least he lives on in Emily and Alison’s twin girls. I wonder if Emily and Ali will ever find out who the father is.

Didn’t care for Ezzzzzria and I was hoping until the very end that they wouldn’t get married and that Ezra would die. Am I a horrible person for saying that? I will never get over the fact that he slept with his underage high school student. There are so many things wrong with that sentence. I wanted my Sparia ship to sail, dammit. I had to laugh at Alex lying in bed next to a sleeping Aria and stroking her hair and saying “I think you and I are gonna be the closest of all.” (Is this why she kidnapped Ezra and planned to kill him?) I also laughed at myself when I said “Is it because she’s really in love with Spencer?!” when Aria said she couldn’t marry Ezra. 😆 Let my delusional have this, okay?

Since I’m not the biggest Ali/Emily shipper, I only found their scenes okay. The proposal scene was nice, but I wasn’t convinced by Sasha’s acting. Shay was emoting the hell out of that scene and Sasha just seemed uncomfortable and awkward. Also, I never did buy Ali and Emily’s epic love story from the beginning. Right after Ezzzzria, they are my least favorite couple.

Happy for Hanna and Caleb having a baby. I’m even happier that Hanna continued to advocate for Mona a year after the craziness of the last episode and that she really is a true friend to her even with everyone telling her that she shouldn’t trust Mona. Shut up, everyone. Hanna is right about Mona and her love for her trumps all.

I also really liked how Jenna’s ending played out. She was instrumental in unraveling Alex’s plan by (literally) sniffing out that Spencer is not Spencer and immediately calling her stepbrother (that would be Toby) to warn him. Also, how much do I love that she’s a Life Skills teacher at Rosewood High?

Loved the last scene with all five girls. That definitely felt like all five actresses saying goodbye to each other and not the five characters saying goodbye to Aria before she goes on her honeymoon. And yes, I definitely got choked up watching that. It was a beautiful scene.

And other random observations and quotes:

– The last time the opening credits are played and we get all five girls doing the shhh thing and the casket is open. PERFECT!

– “I may not be able to see, but I can smell a bitch a mile away.” Jenna, you were awesome through the end.

– Was not pleased with those low-rent PLLs being the last shot of the series. Those girls were horrible and couldn’t act to save their lives.

– Loved the cameo by I. Marlene King! You do you, girl, lol.

– Loved Melissa’s ever-so-brief cameo and that IMK had to put one last red herring in the finale by having Mona wear the Melissa mask.

– “Still reading the dictionary for fun?”

– “I’m a passenger in our marriage…with Sylvia Plath as our new roommate, even my sex drive is dictated by your ovulation app.”

– “Sometimes I wish we were still in the basement”
“You remember how we got out of there?”
“You know, Pam didn’t drink for a year after that.”

TRULY ICONIC.

– Whoever did the plastic surgery (if she did have it) or the botox treatment on Laura Leighton (Ashley) should be commended because Laura looks so natural and amazing.

– I wasn’t too thrilled about finding out that Alex was the one who had sex with Toby in the previous episode in his cabin. That wasn’t cool. It reeks of Mary pretending to be Jessica to have sex with Peter.

– Aria’s wedding dress was not good.

– “She can’t keep us here forever.”
“Of course she can, she’s Mona.”

THE BEST. I kinda wish this was the show’s last scene and not with those low-rent PLLs. When Mona was walking through her tunnel, I was thinking that I wouldn’t mind a spinoff with Mona doing her own thing.

To sum up, brilliant ending to a fun and ridiculously enjoyable show. It was a great ride and I’m going to miss the hell out of these characters and the non-answers and the absolute craziness of the storylines. Thank you, PLL cast and crew!

Leave a Reply

