“I’m loving my neighbors and trying not to judge”

TV Show: Orphan Black
Episode Title: Beneath Her Heart
Original Air Date: June 24, 2017
Episode Number: 5×03

Episode Description

Stuck on the sidelines with Neolutionists crawling all over her home, Alison seeks to return to her community center, but Bailey Downs has moved on from her. As she flounders to take back some semblance of control, the ghost of friendships’ past rears its handsome head. Art and his new partner show up at the Hendrix residence to continue their search for Helena, forcing Art to make a difficult moral judgement.

My Review

I’m glad the show decided to do the token Alison episode early this season because I don’t think they have the time to spare to show us Alison’s crazy shenanigans. Having said that, I actually found this episode to be strong and made me feel for Alison. She was my favorite clone in season one, but that changed as the seasons passed because she definitely felt like the outlier from her sestras and from the main storyline.

It was great to see her take matters into her own hands and not have people dictate what she can or cannot do. Where was she storing Leekie’s head all this time? I didn’t even realize that this was Alison’s first meeting with Rachel. Rachel didn’t seem impressed at all and I felt sorry for Alison again. People thinking you’re not worth anything or are beneath them have got to do serious damage to your self-esteem and mental health.

Where does Alison plan on going though? Is this just the show’s way of having one less clone to write for? Surely she’s not going to disappear for the majority of the episodes and then have her come back in the last few episodes? Alison going away now is not the best time since her sisters need her…but if she feels like she needs to do this for herself, to find out who she really is outside of Bailey Downs and all the clone craziness, then so be it.

It’s quite touching how much she loves Donnie and I find their relationship so endearing and sweet. I hope Donnie will be okay while Alison is away and that he’ll continue to help the sestras. It was adorable when they started singing together.

LOVED the Beth phone call flashback! Beth is my favorite clone so it’s always a treat whenever she gets mentioned or when she shows up onscreen. I’m hoping that we do have another Beth flashback before this show is finished. I also liked Chad showing up and reminiscing with Alison about Aynsley. I was surprised that I teared up when Alison spotted Aynsley in the audience smiling back at her. That was a nice moment.

Alison calling out those churchgoers for being hypocrites was so amazing. Don’t we all wish we could do that to the people in our own churches or in our communities?

Enger continues to be a royal pain in the ass. The actress makes her so hateful, though, so gotta give kudos to her. Art was willing to shoot Enger dead for the sestras. Wow. He really has been so good to the sestras that I hope he doesn’t end up as collateral damage before all of this is over. I bet he’s doing this not only for the sestras, but also for Beth, so that her death would not have been in vain.

So Helena is hiding out in a convent? Hmm.

Leave a Reply

