“The government’s a cunt. We knew that already.”

TV Show: Black Mirror
Episode Title: Hated In The Nation
Original Air Date: October 21, 2016
Episode Number: 3×06

Episode Description

A police detective and her geeky young sidekick investigate a string of grisly murders with a sinister link to social media.

My Review

Wow. Wow. WOW!!!!!! San Junipero who? This was my favorite episode because it had everything that I love about this series. Disturbing outcome? Check. Gruesome deaths? Check. Technology being used to cause said deaths? Check. People (this includes the government) using technology for their own agendas? Check. Female lead? Check. Female co-lead? Check. Both females working awesomely and making a great team? Check. A mind-blowing ending? CHECK!

Gosh, where do I even start with this episode?? I have so many thoughts, but I’m going to start with that ending. I absolutely loved that we seemed to have ended on a happy note with Blue tracking Garrett in an unnamed Latin/South American country and I just hope that he had no idea Blue was following him. There has to be someone else in on this covert mission and not just Blue because as much as I love her, I don’t think she’d be able to beat Garrett in hand-to-hand combat. Dammit, I really wanted the episode to go and show us how she would have taken him down. I don’t want to have to speculate. I want to see Karin and Blue celebrating and getting their due once they have Garrett in custody.

Anyway, the reveal was so well-done. I just loved that both detectives worked together to devise a plan to hunt down Garrett that Blue was willing to fake her death and Karin was willing to lie and perjure herself as to what happened to Blue and their plan about Garrett. I wonder if this was a rogue mission and it’s only the two of them who know about this. Dammit, I have so many questions.

It was so nice to see the evolution of Karin and Blue’s relationship which started out unsure and evolved into both of them respecting and trusting each other. Within this insanity, I’m hoping that they have become really good friends and that Karin was there for Blue when she felt like it was her fault for what happened to all those people. It was a very brief moment, but I think my favorite interaction between them was when Karin put her hand on Blue’s shoulder as Blue was busy on her laptop and she looks up briefly at Karin. I don’t know why, but I thought that was a touching moment. Nice to see a bit of humanity displayed from time to time from the people that you least expect it.

As for the whole killer bee storyline and social media playing a big part…so fucked up. The fact that Garrett’s targets were not the top winners of the hashtag, but instead he was targeting those who used the hashtag. I mean, what insanity is this? Did we ever find out why he was doing this? I know his roommate almost killed herself because people on social media were saying nasty things about her, but was that his only motivation?

And on another related note, of course the government was using those bees to spy on their citizens. There is no such thing as privacy in this day and age and if you believe that we all have a right to privacy, you’re deluding yourself. Even though we try to keep things private as much as possible, I’m sure the government already has everything about us on some database somewhere and they’re using it for their own means. This is quite a touchy subject and I don’t have the time to get into this now so maybe that’s for another time.

I must say kudos to Kelly and Faye for an incredible job in this episode and of course to Charlie Brooker, the man behind it all for his creative genius. I was so impressed by Faye’s portrayal of Blue that I had to look her up on Google and I found it somewhat amusing that one of the storylines about her was that she got a lot of hate on social media after playing The Waif on Game of Thrones (the one who “trains” Arya Stark). I just thought it was interesting that she did that and then we have this episode where she’s a tech guru well-versed on social media.

Man, this was a great ride. I binged all three seasons in about a week and I can’t wait to watch more. There better be another season and another and another.

Leave a Reply

