“So you’ve been just…totally fucking inconvenient”

TV Show: Black Mirror
Episode Title: San Junipero
Original Air Date: October 21, 2016
Episode Number: 3×04

Episode Description

California, 1987: San Junipero is a fun-loving beach town synonymous with sun, surf, and sex. And for recent arrivals Yorkie and Kelly, it’s going to be a life-changer.

My Review

This was the first Black Mirror episode I’ve ever watched a few months ago and the only reasons I watched it are: 1) Gugu Mbatha-Raw; 2) Mackenzie Davis; and 3) it’s a gay love story with a happy ending and is therefore required gay viewing.

Upon second viewing, this definitely holds up and I cried as much as the first time I watched it. It was also great watching it knowing the ending and I noticed that the episode made a couple of references to Yorkie’s car accident – first at the arcade when we first see her and then second when Kelly ran the car off the road and we saw Yorkie’s terrified face.

I cried when Kelly visited Yorkie and saw for the first time that Yorkie was on life support. The love on Kelly’s face broke my heart. I cried again when Kelly decided to marry Yorkie. Then I cried again at the ending when they were reunited and will be together for all of eternity. Oddly enough, I didn’t cry when Kelly was telling Yorkie about her life with her husband and how they lost their daughter. I felt for her, sure, but the emotional impact wasn’t as big as the other scenes I mentioned before.

Really love the chemistry between Gugu and Mackenzie and I kinda want to see them in more things together. I think their first meeting is a fantastic “meet-cute”, if you will. The fact that Yorkie just played along with Kelly when Wes was bugging Kelly was great. And of course, the whole “I’m…regarding you” – there’s just something so romantic and perfect about this. I’m totally stealing that line. 😄

I just love this episode and I’m so glad we got a happy ending for a change. This was probably the only episode of this show that had a happy ending, I’m assuming? There are still two more episodes for this season so I don’t know how accurate this statement is.

I’ll end this review with a few of my favorite lines:

“Do I have to tug your leash?”

“You’re authentically you.”

“I don’t know how to do this. Can you just make this easy for me?”

“Let me come visit. I want to say hi.”

“Wanna marry me instead?”

Leave a Reply

