“Depression is holding on and sadness is letting go”

TV Show: Orange Is The New Black
Episode Title: Flaming Hot Cheetos, Literally
Original Air Date: June 9, 2017
Episode Number: 5×06

Episode Description

Boo defends Doggett, Janae consoles Soso, and Lorna comes on to Nicky. While Alex lays low in the yard, Piper decides to take a stand.

My Review

Poussey coming back was great, but it would have been even better if Samira Wiley’s name was not included in the opening credits. I hate when shows do this whenever an old character comes back for a guest appearance and they would show the actor’s name in the credits because it ruins the surprise. It probably is a negotiating deal and behind the scenes contracts, but still. That should be outlawed from now on.

It was great seeing Poussey and Taystee’s first meeting and how they immediately hit it off. Taystee was correct. Alice In Wonderland was Poussey’s favorite book. They had such a pure and beautiful friendship that I’m sad all over again that we won’t ever get to see this kind of relationship on the show again. I don’t think there’s a friendship or relationship currently on the show that would equal Taystee and Poussey’s relationship.

I hate what Lorna is doing to Nicky and I hate that Nicky falls for it every time. This is an unhealthy cycle that needs to be broken for both of their emotional and mental sake. I just hope that Nicky doesn’t seek comfort in drugs if/when Lorna really breaks things off for good.

Loved that Frieda invited a select few to her bunker and her game room (!). Gloria, Jones, Gina, Norma, and Jones’ bunkmate (I don’t remember her name). Great selection of people right there and the only one missing is Red, but she’s too busy getting high and enjoying herself with Blanca (what an odd pairing, but they’re hilarious together). I hope that once things go back to normal that Frieda’s space is not compromised.

Taystee and the group (together with Piper) taking back the Hot Cheetos and Takis because they refuse to be bribed into releasing the hostages and then setting them on fire was great. I hope Nita and the governor will see that the inmates are being serious in having all of their demands being met and not to be placated by words (“we’ll work on it”, “we’ll see”).

My heart broke for Taystee when her mother rejected her again and refused to take her home and offer her a place to live. Can you imagine going through that at 18 years old and with no place to go? Such a hard life these women have and most of them are in prison for nothing malicious, they’re mostly there because of bad luck and of the circumstances of their childhood and their surroundings.

I really liked Janae and Soso’s conversation about Poussey and how Janae suggested to Soso that running will help her free her mind from being angry all the time. I want to see them bond and develop this friendship to something more meaningful. I agree with Soso’s speech: “I’m not sad. I’m angry. I hate everyone. Anyone laughing or smiling or being alive is fucking offensive to me and they should all just fucking die. And eventually, I’m just gonna burn up from rage and then I’ll just be dust. And I don’t know how to make it stop.” I’m in the same head space as she is now and it sucks feeling this way when your mind is not occupied by something.

It was great to see Ruiz come to her senses and joining Daya out on the lawn together with the rest of Alex’s resistance group. The two of them talking about Drake, Pitbull, and Fat Joe had me laughing. Aleida going to the TV station to be interviewed was very funny and I lost it when she started cursing and it just got progressively worse as she got mad at not being allowed to properly curse.

Lastly, I felt bad for Gina for not getting the recognition she deserves for turning the power back on. These inmates are not grateful at all and I kind of want Gina to turn off the power again just to spite them because I’m petty like that.

Leave a Reply

