“You have amazing taste in underwear”

Episode Title: Steel Bars and Stone Walls
Original Air Date: June 9, 2017
Episode Number: 2×01

Episode Description

Wynonna tries to rescue a seemingly mutated Dolls, while there may be more to Waverly than meets the eye.

My Review

Oh my God, I don’t think I’ve had this much fun watching a season premiere as I did while watching this episode. Kudos to Emily Andras and the entire cast who are all game for everything that Emily’s genius mind comes up with. There were SO many great one-liners that i had to pause the episode a few times just so I can laugh and write those bon mots down.

I loved this episode so much and it’s hard to pick a favorite, but I think my favorite has got to be Waverly using “Liz Wallis Windsor” as her Scotland Yard undercover name which of course is Queen Elizabeth’s full name (minus the “Wallis”). This is pure fucking genius and I want to give Ms. Andras a high five for this. And we also got to hear Dominique’s posh British accent (which I think she exaggerated a bit because Nicole teased her about it being horrible, lol). Waverly’s whole undercover outfit gets a plus from me especially those red glasses.

My second favorite is Rachel Skarsten as Eliza. Girl kicked serious ass so I was so disappointed that Lucado’s boss, Moody, shot her dead. I was really enjoying her dynamic with Wynonna and how they both seemed to admire each other’s assets and skills. If I’m not mistaken, Eliza might even have hit on Wynonna when she said “You should see what I can do naked.” Loved their first meeting and the tussle in the hotel room. I could watch that scene all day and not get bored.

Doc going after Dolls himself to spare Wynonna from possibly seeing Dolls devolve to his non-human self was sweet and also when he told her to go and save her “other sister.” Wynonna doesn’t need to be protected, but I appreciated what Doc did here because it was only the night before that Wynonna shot and killed her other sister to save Purgatory. I still want Doc and Wynonna to just stay friends because their dynamic is much more interesting that way.

So the Earp sisters, Doc, and the lab tech are now part of the Black Badge division who are tasked to group and round up the revenants/demons that were unleashed when the hellhole opened up last season. What did they really sign up for and why didn’t anyone read that contract? Eliza did say not to sign anything before she was unceremoniously killed.

Nicole is the only one that Black Badge doesn’t know of who actually knows about them thanks to Waverly protecting her girlfriend. I really hope this doesn’t mean Nicole will be in danger this whole season and that Black Badge will kill her if/when they find out she’s in the know. Ms. Andras would not do that, right? I have faith. Would have loved to have seen Kat Barrell’s name added to the opening credits now that she’s a regular. Really hope she doesn’t end up dead by the end of the season.

As much as I enjoyed all the Wayhaught scenes we got, I’m worried that there will be a rift between the two when it comes out that Waverly is not the same. Hell, Nicole already suspects something is up when she said that Waverly doesn’t taste the same after they kissed and then we got Waverly going all dark eyes and raising an axe behind Nicole to hack that monster into pieces. Whatever is inside Waverly, I hope she’s strong enough to combat its murdering tendencies and that she wouldn’t hurt her own family and friends.

Poor Doc losing his hat! He does look weird and naked without it so I hope he finds himself a similar hat because his oily hair looks better hidden, lol.

How soon until Dolls comes out of hiding and rejoins the group? Wouldn’t it be in Black Badge’s best interest to just let him go and lead the team again in Purgatory? Isn’t the point of the group to contain these revenants/demons?

How does Moody fit into all this? He’s obviously the big bad. I actually did a double take when the actor showed up because I know him as Art Bell from Orphan Black so I was a little confused and started to wonder if I was watching the wrong show for a second, lol. Now I’m itching for a Wynonna Earp/Orphan Black crossover. Can you imagine Felix and Doc meeting?? That would be comedy gold.

Really excited for this show being back and I’m looking forward to the rest of the season. If this episode is any indication of the rest of the season, then season two is going to be a complete blast.

And now, below are just a few of the one-liners that got me laughing and some of the ones which I thought were sweet:

“He’s eating my hat!”

“I took you out with a lamp.”

“You smell like shit…rolled in shit.”

“My Waverly.”

“That is the worst British accent I’ve ever heard.”

“Plan B, aka you, need to become Plan C.”

“I thought you were good in your underwear.”
“You should see what I can do naked.”

“Damn, I do feel naked without it.”

Leave a Reply

