“I chased them away with my sadness”

TV Show: Orange Is The New Black
Episode Title: Riot FOMO
Original Air Date: June 9, 2017
Episode Number: 5×01

Episode Description

As the standoff at the prison spirals into a full-blown riot, enterprising inmates take advantage of the confusion. Taystee confronts Caputo.

My Review

Well, that episode left me breathless. It was just go, go, go all the time and I was on pins and needles the whole time. Great start to this season and I’m scared of what the consequences are going to be for the inmates and for the prison system. Don’t really care what this will do to MCC because they’re the reason all this shit happened in the first place. I want their asses exposed that they’re only in this to make money and have no regard for the inmates and the inmates’ well-being.

I was so worried that Daya was going to commit suicide so I’m glad the show didn’t go there. Who the hell knocked her in the head, though? I have no guesses as to who that is right now. It broke my heart when she called Aleida in the end because she was so lost and all she needed was some kind of familiarity to center herself again and for someone to tell her what to do.

Alex and Piper trying to hide and avoid the drama is smart. Piper only has three months left and Alex can’t afford to be found out by whoever’s out there to kill her. All the inmates who decided to hunker down and find their own hiding spots were smart. I think Boo and Doggett hit the gold mine taking the commissary for themselves.

My heart broke when Taystee made that video with tears in her eyes. Oh, Poussey, you will be so missed. Caputo really should have done right by the ladies and told the truth because what did he get in the end? He got his ass fired anyway.

Sophia and Gloria saving that heinous guard’s life was admirable. They didn’t let the craziness and their feelings for the cruelty of the guard cloud their emotions and instead they were thinking of themselves and saving all of the inmates from an even worse fate if that guard died. Just wish Gloria could get through Daya and convince her to stop this nonsense.

Nicky and Morello holding the keys to the drugs was also a smart move although I would hate to see Nicky relapse seeing all those drugs available for her. Just hope that Morello keeps an eye out for her at all times.

What was Red up to in the warden’s office? What exactly was she looking for? She should have gone with Frieda to the kitchen and locked it up instead of those two idiot guards now locked in there with all the food.

The guard who got shot being wheeled into the recovery bay with Suzanne and the inmate that Suzanne beat up pretty bad probably wish he died. I think he won’t last long in that bed with Suzanne there.

I liked the scene with Soso and Judy King in the library and I think this was my favorite scene of the episode. Judy telling Soso that people are resilient and that they always bounce back are probably the exact words that Soso needed to hear. I hope Soso survives this season because I worry for her mental and emotional well-being after Poussey’s death.

I look forward to the rest of the season. It’s going to be a doozy, I can feel it.

Leave a Reply

