“Welcome to the death of the Age of Reason”

Episode Title: Chapter 64
Original Air Date: May 30, 2017
Episode Number: 5×12

Episode Description

Frank attempts to stop Cathy from testifying. With Hammerschmidt sniffing out the truth, the Underwoods throw someone close to them under the bus.

My Review

It’s so easy to hate Frank especially when he does despicable things like push Cathy off the stairs so I wanted to reach through my TV screen and wring his neck. I’ve been worried about her safety for a while now so I hope she recovers from this and remembers Frank pushing her. What a despicable human being, my goodness. He’s really pushing it too far.

And of course his wife is no better with taking things into her hands and poisoning Boring Tom which I’m so grateful for because he was a waste of space and time invested on his character this season and last season. I applaud her for killing such a boring character, but I despise the act of her taking a person’s life.

Then we have the two of them teaming up to ask Doug to confess and implicate himself in Zoe’s murder. Of course, he probably ended up doing this and not minding it, but we find out that he’s the one who’s been leaking information to Journalist Tom. Unless he was doing this on purpose so that Frank is not implicated and/or he’s atoning for all the wrongs he has done. I’m so confused.

I also wanted to wring Sean’s neck for spying on his girlfriend’s phone (it was all a plan with Journalist Tom, but still) and giving that info to Frank in order to have him come up ahead of this disaster. Yeah, I won’t mind it too much if Sean ends up as collateral damage now. I wanted to smack that smirk/smug look on his face after his “confidential meeting” with the president. 🙄

Seth is in a bind thanks to his conversations being bugged and Frank is using him to get the word out about Doug. I’m still curious as to what his role is in all of this. I’m still not sure if he’s pro-Underwood or not.

Davis getting Frank to resign, well then! Didn’t see that coming. I don’t believe for one second that he’s going to willingly resign as president just so Claire can take over and he’s left with nothing and his legacy being shot to hell. I want to know the end of his conversation with Davis.

Davis talking to Usher to back her instead of Frank was also interesting. I’m more and more convinced that these two had a romantic past and it’s possible that they might still be together.

One more episode! This season seems to be ending on an upswing. Let’s see if that’s the case with the finale.

Leave a Reply

