“My turn”

Episode Title: Chapter 65
Original Air Date: May 30, 2017
Episode Number: 5×13

Episode Description

In the wake of a surprising announcement, everything at the White House is shaken up. A decision must be made about whether to go to war.

My Review

Damn, that was stone cold, Madame President! So I was right in my comment in the last episode that it will be Underwood vs. Underwood next season (if there’s going to be a season six). Claire not pardoning Frank like she said she would and saying “My turn” to end this season was a shock. That’s one thing Frank didn’t plan/account for, that his whole master plan is hinging on Claire to pardon him so that they would rule the country in the public and private sectors. Guess he doesn’t know Claire after all.

I’m scared for Claire, though. Frank is a ruthless man, but we’ve seen Claire can be just as ruthless so I’m looking forward to the showdown because it will be quite delicious. Let’s see who ends up loyal to both of them. Who else is left? Usher and Davis are both playing them. Doug will of course side with Frank. Seth, who knows if he’s even back next season. Sean, the new deputy communications director will side with Claire, but that doesn’t really mean anything. They need to introduce new people as part of the senior staff because they’ve gotten rid of everyone else.

The reveal that Frank was the leak was a shock, but I loved that Tom saw through this and is doubting the information that was spoon-fed to him and he doesn’t believe Doug did it. If he digs further, he will find out that it was Frank who killed Zoe. I want him to get to that truth and to also expose that Frank had a hand in Peter’s death and who knows who else. I was so scared for Tom when he went to Doug’s place. He needs to be alone when having these meetings or if he has to meet alone, it needs to be in a public place.

I’m still unclear as to what Jane Davis does or why she is this powerful. She has contacts all over the world and she can use those contacts to find Ahmadi. I mean, what?

Poor LeAnn. She didn’t deserve to go out that way. Fucking Frank for orchestrating her death. I want Doug to look into her death and to finally sever that tie with the Underwoods. He has to know that he’ll end up the same way now that the Underwoods are tying up loose ends, right? No way in hell would they let him come back to the White House. After he exposes both of them, then I want him to get his comeuppance.

Usher suggesting himself as Claire’s VP was a laugh out loud moment, but in essence, it actually is the most logical idea. Still very dangerous, though, because I don’t think Claire would be able to control him and we’ve already learned that he cannot be trusted. Then again, if the Underwoods are bound to lose, then maybe Usher and Davis working together will be the ones to do it.

This was a pretty uneven season, I thought. Boring Tom should not have been a thing because he dragged the quality of the episodes for most of the season just by appearing and showing his boring face. Never have I ever hated a character on this show more than him. What a useless character. Hell, it says a lot that I hate him more than Doug and I hate Doug a lot!

Definitely going to miss Neve Campbell on this because LeAnn was a very good character who was a bit over her head. I want Seth to play a bigger role next season in unraveling this mystery and to have him work with Journalist Tom. They need to reach out to Cathy, Remy, and Jackie.

“Welcome to the death of the Age of Reason”

Episode Title: Chapter 64
Original Air Date: May 30, 2017
Episode Number: 5×12

Episode Description

Frank attempts to stop Cathy from testifying. With Hammerschmidt sniffing out the truth, the Underwoods throw someone close to them under the bus.

My Review

It’s so easy to hate Frank especially when he does despicable things like push Cathy off the stairs so I wanted to reach through my TV screen and wring his neck. I’ve been worried about her safety for a while now so I hope she recovers from this and remembers Frank pushing her. What a despicable human being, my goodness. He’s really pushing it too far.

And of course his wife is no better with taking things into her hands and poisoning Boring Tom which I’m so grateful for because he was a waste of space and time invested on his character this season and last season. I applaud her for killing such a boring character, but I despise the act of her taking a person’s life.

Then we have the two of them teaming up to ask Doug to confess and implicate himself in Zoe’s murder. Of course, he probably ended up doing this and not minding it, but we find out that he’s the one who’s been leaking information to Journalist Tom. Unless he was doing this on purpose so that Frank is not implicated and/or he’s atoning for all the wrongs he has done. I’m so confused.

I also wanted to wring Sean’s neck for spying on his girlfriend’s phone (it was all a plan with Journalist Tom, but still) and giving that info to Frank in order to have him come up ahead of this disaster. Yeah, I won’t mind it too much if Sean ends up as collateral damage now. I wanted to smack that smirk/smug look on his face after his “confidential meeting” with the president. 🙄

Seth is in a bind thanks to his conversations being bugged and Frank is using him to get the word out about Doug. I’m still curious as to what his role is in all of this. I’m still not sure if he’s pro-Underwood or not.

Davis getting Frank to resign, well then! Didn’t see that coming. I don’t believe for one second that he’s going to willingly resign as president just so Claire can take over and he’s left with nothing and his legacy being shot to hell. I want to know the end of his conversation with Davis.

Davis talking to Usher to back her instead of Frank was also interesting. I’m more and more convinced that these two had a romantic past and it’s possible that they might still be together.

One more episode! This season seems to be ending on an upswing. Let’s see if that’s the case with the finale.

“He did have a facial expression I won’t miss”

Episode Title: Chapter 63
Original Air Date: May 30, 2017
Episode Number: 5×11

Episode Description

As the team tries to control fallout from damaging testimony and leaks, everyone is under suspicion and tensions flare between Frank and Claire.

My Review

Hoo boy, the administration throwing Cathy under the was expected, but what was a shock was her getting an immunity deal from Romero (who’s heading the Judiciary Committee) so even though the Underwoods told everyone she was the source of the leak, nothing will happen to her (right?) and Journalist Tom and the Washington Herald can confirm this since they got another thumb drive with relevant information from someone inside the White House.

I have a feeling it’s Seth who’s the leak because he’s the only one that makes sense. Would be a twist if it’s Claire leaking things to Journalist Tom because she wants to be president, hmm. She even got Sean a job as Seth’s deputy so maybe she’ll put him to good use on her way to the Oval Office.

So what did Macallan give LeAnn and will she give that to Doug so that she’ll be able to come back to the fold? Eww at the two of them hooking up. I knew it was going to happen the moment LeAnn opened her door and she wasn’t wearing any lipstick. Note to TV/movie viewers: if a female character is shown not wearing lipstick, you bet your ass that a kissing scene (at the very least) will happen. I did laugh at Frank watching all of this unfold, heh.

The widow telling Doug that she knew all along and she was only fucking him because she hates him…does not exactly compute. Not sure what that was about, but I hope she talks to the press and blows this wide open because that will hurt Doug more than whatever emotional manipulation happened between the two of them.

Claire telling Boring Tom to skedaddle was pretty anticlimactic. I want her to find out about his indiscretions and for her to rail at him. Wait…it’s possible that Boring Tom could also be the source of the leak. He’s actually a more viable suspect than Claire.

So following this, Frank tells his lover to get lost. I thought Eric was an idiot for declaring his love for Frank in the presence of Secret Service agents and for letting this fantasy of his get out of hand. Where exactly did he expect this relationship was going to go?

Frank suspecting Claire is up to something is not good, but he’s smart to be wary because right now it’s every man for himself and he knows how ambitious Claire is. Davis telling Claire to distance herself from Frank so she comes out of this unscathed is not helping Frank’s case. Will it be Underwood vs. Underwood before this season ends? Claire breaking the fourth wall and talking directly to the audience…yeah, that lost its shock when she did it in the finale of last season.

“It never ceases to amaze me how talented men are at making a mess”

Episode Title: 62
Original Air Date: May 30, 2017
Episode Number: 5×10

Episode Description

The Underwoods and their team angle to undermine the revived committee investigating Frank. Hammerschmidt’s investigation heats up.

My Review

What? What?! WHAAAAAT?!! That was my reaction after this episode ended. I need a lot more clarification as to who exactly Jane Davis is and why she seems to have a lot of power in matters relating to international espionage, trade, terrorism, war, you name it. How did she get so powerful in short notice and why haven’t we heard about her until a few episodes ago?

I don’t even know if she’s genuine in her offer to help the Underwoods or if she’s just in this to make a profit (isn’t always about the money?) and that’s what’s scary to me. She wasn’t above gassing civilians just so they can justify bringing in 30,000 troops into Damascus so that whatever Petrov is after in that area he won’t be able to get. You know, this is all fiction, but I have no doubt that something similar has or will have happened within the current administration. Manipulating events to further their own needs. Just unbelievable.

Usher getting called out for playing both sides was a long time coming, but I think he’ll be okay for now. Walker reneging on the deal was not his fault and I think he was being honest to the Underwoods when he said that he wants to help them succeed (for now at least, until something/someone more shiny comes along). Doug was right that Usher can’t be trusted, but unfortunately for him, Frank still won’t let Usher go.

Frank meeting Walker before the testimony was such a bad idea. What the fuck was that? Was he just posturing? If I were Walker, I would have done the same thing because Frank came off like he was rubbing salt into Walker’s wounds during that meeting so it’s on Frank for not heeding Claire’s advice the night before. Yet again, ego got in the way. Well, I’m looking forward to the fallout from this. If Walker ends up dead, everyone will know what’s really up, but I don’t think Frank or Doug are that stupid to stage Walker’s death right now when all eyes are on him.

Claire telling Boring Tom about the people that Frank has killed…was that real or was that a dream? Why in the hell would she tell him that? Claire is far from stupid and she doesn’t know Boring Tom that well for her to divulge something huge like that to him. Does she really expect him not to rat out on her and Frank once Frank tosses him out of the White House?

Poor Cathy. I swear, this woman has got to be the Underwoods’ favorite punching bag. She is always put in an impossible situation and I just feel sorry for her. What’s stopping her from resigning, though? I don’t remember if the Underwoods have something on her?

Sean connecting the dots with Frank’s liver donor and Doug’s affair with the woman whose husband was supposed to get that liver was another “oh shit” moment. Seth bringing this to Claire…I’m not sure if this was a good idea and I’m still unclear what Seth’s ulterior motive is or if he’s loyal to the White House or not. Will Seth give Sean a position in the White House to shut him up?

Doug stalking Lisa like that and intending to harm her…man alive, he is the fucking worst. More than the Underwoods, I want him to really suffer for everything that he’s done. Journalist Tom coming up to him to ask him about Lisa Williams should scare him, but of course he didn’t even look rattled at the very least. I hope Journalist Tom is careful because I don’t want him to end up just like Zoe and for this whole investigation to get shut down.

Macallan and LeAnn were a thing?! Who saw that coming? I sure as hell didn’t! He seemed more like a father figure to her so when they kissed, I covered my eyes and cringed. Feel sorry for Neve Campbell for having to kiss that guy (no offense). What will Davis do to LeAnn now? LeAnn is still a liability and a loose end and I’m sure that eventually the Underwoods would like for that loose end to be taken care of.

Frank and Claire meeting with Davis and Usher, respectively, was interesting. What was the purpose of this? Are Davis and Usher working together to take down the Underwoods or is there something else going on here?

“You and your wishes can go fuck yourselves!”

Episode Title: Chapter 61
Original Air Date: May 30, 2017
Episode Number: 5×09

Episode Description

Petrov tries to influence affairs in the U.S. Jane discusses her agenda with Claire. With her job at stake, LeAnn reaches out to a reporter for help.

My Review

This and episode seven are my favorite episodes of the season so far. Lots happened in this episode so let’s get right to it.

LeAnn getting pushed out and getting the blame for the Macallan leak/loose end. It’s too bad because I like her on the team and how she was complicit to almost everything and how she helped the Underwoods manipulate the election, but she has become a liability. I really hope Doug doesn’t have her killed because that would just be another thing that I will hate him for. It was tough seeing LeAnn betray Macallan like that, but it seems she didn’t have a choice. It’s unfortunate that that wasn’t enough for her to convince the Underwoods and Doug to keep her on the team.

Journalist Tom is ever so close to revealing that Zoe was killed by Doug and every episode I am on pins and needles. I hope Tom’s assistant remembers Seth’s name and tells Tom about the call and that she figures out that Sean is working with Seth.

Usher becoming the special adviser to the president is going to be interesting. Doug feels threatened by this appointment and that inauguration scene that hearkened back to the season one inauguration scene makes me think that the show has big plans for Usher. Makes me wonder what exactly those plans are. I hate Doug, but he might be right in that Usher can’t be trusted.

Romero getting screwed by Frank. I didn’t see it coming, but I should have. Frank hates people like Romero so it’s no wonder he ended up screwing him over and he ends up not getting what he wanted. But now, Romero is going to start up the investigation of the president and the events of last season.

So is this the last we’re going to see of the Conways? If so, kudos to both actors. I thought they both did a fine job as Will and Hannah. Their marriage is going to have a lot of strain after this because they both looked utterly defeated by the election’s outcome.

Frank’s speech during the inauguration where he broke the fourth wall evoked Drumpf’s election for me and I wonder if that was what the writers intended. I mean, just read this:

“And now, here I am, President of these United States. You made this bed, America. You voted for me. Are you confused? Are you afraid? Because what you thought you wanted is now here. And there you are, staring back, slack-jawed, bewildered, wondering if this is what you actually asked for. This democracy, your democracy, elected me. And if you think it was hard getting here, you’re beginning to understand what I’m willing to do to stay.”

We were all guilty of taking his run for office as a joke and then when he became the nominee, we still took it as a joke, and then he got elected and no one was laughing anymore. Even his supporters realize now how much they fucked up and now they have to live with the consequences of their stupidity for the next four years.

It was only a matter of time before Eric and Frank got together because there was a spark in their initial meeting and they seemed to be flirting in all of their scenes. Get it, Frank. I thought it was sweet that he went back to the spot where he and Meechum had that intimate moment back in a previous season.

I laughed at the scene with Eric and Boring Tom talking while looking at their respective lovers. It was ridiculous as hell, but this show is not beneath that. I also laughed when Frank told Boring Tom “Don’t cheat on my wife.” Only in this show you’ll hear that line of dialogue and for it to make perfect sense.

Did anyone else want to throw something at their screen during that scene between Kate Baldwin (Kim Dickens’ reporter character) and Boring Tom? I sure did. I haaaaaaaate Dickens’ Fear the Walking Dead character Madison with the fire of a thousand suns because she is the worst and the actress is not availing herself at all in that role so when I saw her having a scene with Boring Tom, I screamed in frustration and just had to laugh. I wanted to fast forward through the scene, but I was curious how bad it would be so I watched it and it was like watching paint dry and/or watching a train wreck. Actually, both of those things are more interesting than that scene so there you go. Please get rid of Boring Tom already!