“I will not yield”

Episode Title: Chapter 53
Original Air Date: May 30, 2017
Episode Number: 5×01

Episode Description

As Congress debates investigating Frank, he and Claire attempt to stoke fear of terrorism. Tom Yates continues his stay in the White House.

My Review

I should have read up on the events of the last season because I was 50% lost watching this episode. It came back to me that Francis and Claire orchestrated this whole terrorism thing and blew it way out of proportion by asking Congress to declare war on ICO and they’re doing this to push down the story about that journalist looking into what illegal things they have done to get to the White House.

And we also have the presidential election still on the forefront and Will opposing Francis. Not much happened with this plot, but it was interesting to see the cracks (somewhat) around his marriage and how Hannah can’t seem to act like a model wife’s candidate.

Francis already having the suspect in custody was a surprise. He and Claire were playing the American public all along. Sly.

What’s up with Leann’s buddy? Does he really work for the NSA or did he just stroll into the NSA headquarters with a fake ID? I’m still not sure what his role is in all this. I get that he’s using NSA resources to somehow win this election for the Underwoods, but I’m a bit lost as to who he is.

Yates is back…ugh. I’m going to echo my sentiments from last season. The actor and character just bore me to death. Someone please get him off my show.

This was a decent premiere. Can’t wait to see reporter Tom battle it out against the Underwoods.

Leave a Reply

