“When are you gonna reach your threshold for batshit?”

Episode Title: Witness
Original Air Date: May 21, 2017
Episode Number: 3×10

Episode Description

Every imaginable threat descends upon Railly and Cole. With Titan looming – and ally fighting ally – The Witness finds himself on the threshold of destiny.

My Review

Holy hell, mind blown. Talk about ending the season with a bang; now that’s how you end a brilliant season, folks. Pay attention, other shows. I can’t believe this season is already over and I’m kind of bummed that Syfy went the route of Netflix by having the episodes available in so short a time so people can binge watch it. This show is a lot to take in and I would have preferred to have had a week to recover after each episode, allowing it to marinate before I watch the next episode. Nevertheless, I don’t think I would have been able to withstand the wait in between episodes, lol.

Jennifer was right. AGAIN. Olivia really was playing all of them and orchestrated this brilliant plan right from the beginning because she was dissatisfied and disillusioned by The Witness. Jennifer did say that Olivia is a woman who doesn’t want to be where she is if she didn’t plan to be there. I really hope the team listens more to Jennifer next season because even though a lot of the stuff she says doesn’t make any sense, if they would only take the time to actually listen, they could defeat Olivia and her army.

I wonder if that’s the end of Athan. I actually really liked how his story ended and how he didn’t succumb to his “fate” of becoming a demon and killing off humanity. Jones shooting Athan – I can’t believe she did it. Things are going to be awkward back at the base when Cassie confronts Jones about this. I loved the showdown between Jones/Hannah and Cassie/Cole/Athan. Cassie had her gun pointed at Jones, Jones and Hannah had their guns pointed at Athan, and then Cassie slowly points her gun at Hannah making Jones think twice about shooting Athan. It didn’t help, but I thought that was very smart of Cassie.

I really liked the scenes with Athan and his parents especially the one back in their house in NY. Cole telling him “Sit down, you little shit” and then we see Cassie in the background smiling was hilarious and made them seem like just another normal family for a hot minute. I also liked his last scenes with both parents, with Cole saying “I wish I could’ve known you” and then with giving Cassie the watch that Eliza gave him. The latter actually made me tear up just a little bit. Loved that Cassie used both watches to create a paradox.

That bald bastard was not a good guy after all and was helping Olivia with her master plan. Damn. He didn’t want Cassie to save The Witness. He wanted her to find him so that he and Olivia could find him and kill him. What a twist. So Athan was not The Witness after all; it was Olivia all along. I’m still having trouble wrapping my head around this.

Deacon survived – of course he did. The guy is indestructible. Looks like the only one who died is Olivia’s brother aka the Pallid Man and Athan. Everyone else survived which I’m glad about.

And lastly, what was that ending? Was that the show’s way of hinting that Jennifer might be Cole’s mother? Whaaaaat? I can’t believe they left us with such a cliffhanger. That is almost criminal.

Kudos to the cast and crew. This really was a terrific season and probably the show’s best season yet, in my opinion. Here’s hoping this momentum continues on the last season.

Leave a Reply

