“Please stop talking like a supervillain”

Episode Title: Brothers
Original Air Date: May 19, 2017
Episode Number: 3×04

Episode Description

Ramse and Cole splinter to 2007 expecting either a trap – or a final chance to kill The Witness. But when Cole discovers a heartbreaking truth, he’ll discover that the mission was both.

My Review

I fucking loved this episode and this was probably one of the show’s best episodes to date. So many things happened: betrayals, reunions, goodbyes, etc. I loved every minute.

Somehow I doubt this is the last we’ll see of Ramse. This is a show about time travel so I won’t believe he’s truly dead until Kirk Acevedo’s name is taken off the opening credits. Cole catching Ramse in a lie was shocking because I didn’t expect it. Of course, I should have known because Cole is not an idiot when it comes to these kinds of things. Their goodbye scene was very touching and I might have teared up just a little bit. Their relationship has always been one of the best things about the show and if this is truly it for Ramse, then I’m going to miss their brotherly dynamic.

Jennifer was on fire in this episode and continues to be one of the very best things about this excellent season. Her conversation with Olivia had me rolling on the floor. “Please stop talking like a supervillain” and “Your spirit animal is turducken” were definite highlights. Love that she somewhat figured out what Olivia’s plans are and that she has a bargaining chip (the map) just in case Ramse failed in his mission.

Cassie and Deacon finally escaping Titan (with help from the bald guy) was awesome and even more awesome that they made it home to 2046 and are now back home. I really hope the bald guy doesn’t get found out by the Pallid Man aka Olivia’s brother and then ends up being executed for helping Cassie and Deacon escape. And I hope that he’s a good guy and this is not part of the 12 Monkeys’ plan.

How great was that reunion between Cole and Cassie? I’m not even that much of a shipper of this couple (that doesn’t mean I don’t love them because I do), but that reunion was amazing and worth the wait and got me teary-eyed. They’re back together and ready to fuck some 12 Monkeys shit up. I wonder if they have it in them to kill their son. Love their last scene looking at each other, both of them afraid to say it, but they didn’t need to because Cassie confirmed it that the Witness is indeed their son. Fascinating.

Lastly, anyone else lost it over all the bread puns? “Nice, got me when I yeast expected.” “Well, that plan’s gone a-rye.” This one was so good, lol.

Leave a Reply

