“Don’t bother me, I’m stress-bidding”

Episode Title: Causality
Original Air Date: May 20, 2017
Episode Number: 3×05

Episode Description

Out of time and in need of answers, Jennifer and Deacon are sent to 1989 to steal a sacred document. Can Railly and Cole get to the Word first before it reveals the one secret they want kept?

My Review

Five episodes in to this season and I am absolutely LOVING this season; it might even be my favorite season of this show yet. All of the characters are being their awesome selves with Jennifer leading the charge and the stakes are even higher than ever before. I love this show and everything about it.

This episode was a lot of fun with the team traveling to 1989 with Cher’s If I Could Turn Back Time being the perfect song playing when they were splintering. I mean, how more awesome can you get? The outfits cracked my shit up, omg. And as someone pointed out below in the comments, Jennifer dressed up Cole as Michael J. Fox’s Back To The Future character which ties very nicely to Doc Brown showing up in the end presenting The Witness. 👍

Jennifer telling everyone about her plan to “steal” the Word was perfect and I absolutely lost it when “Olivia” as Jennifer showed up onscreen. Was the Olivia actress using her real voice during this scene because it sounded like Jennifer’s voice. Either way, it was such a fun and fantastic scene and perfectly captures all the crazy brilliance in Jennifer’s head. Jennifer’s (and Deacon’s) reaction when Jones said she loved the genius plan got me smiling like a fool.

Deacon and Jennifer make for a hilariously fun duo and I look forward to the two of them teaming up more (just please don’t have them start to have feelings for other, show). I was cracking up at all their antics. Deacon was very sweet with Young Jennifer and warning her that “your dad is an asshole.” Deacon’s reactions during the auction were priceless with Jennifer bidding against herself, lol. “Don’t bother me, I’m stress-bidding.”

I think my favorite scene was the meeting of Jennifer, Olivia, and Deacon. I laughed so hard at Deacon’s line, omg.

Olivia: “Do I know you?”
Jennifer: “Not if I can help it.”
Olivia: “Is there something wrong with her?”
Deacon: “You have no idea.”

Jennifer meeting Little Jennifer was an adorably sweet scene and the whole “Egg” and “Chicken” thing made me laugh. Oh, show, you are so cute, I swear.

Jennifer hiding the truth about The Witness from Jones was a surprise, but knowing Jennifer, I’m sure she did it for a good reason which partly involves giving Cassie and Cole a chance to come up with a plan that doesn’t involve killing their kid. Loved the scene where Cassie’s looking at Jennifer and knowing that she knows and acknowledging what Jennifer just did.

We finally get a glimpse of The Witness and he looks exactly like a young Cole with a bit of a resemblance to Cassie also. Great job, casting people.

Leave a Reply

