“Batteries? I thought it ran on bitchiness.”

Episode Title: In the Eye Abides the Heart
Original Air Date: May 23, 2017
Episode Number: 7×15

Episode Description

After being blackmailed by A.D., one of the Liars begins to supply info to the dark side in order to protect those closest to her. Detective Furey questions how much the PLLs know about what happened to Archer Dunhill. Aria tries to issue an ultimatum to Ezra in regards to Nicole, while Emily struggles with how to support Ali. Spencer goes to elaborate lengths to meet up with Mary Drake and encounters Wren. After learning something surprising about Lucas, Hanna sets out to prove her friend is innocent and uncovers even more troubling info. And another person is brought in on the secret of A.D.’s game.

My Review

First off, congrats to Troian for making her directorial debut. I thought she did very well overall although there were a few camera shots/angles that were sort of weird for me. The episode itself was quite boring which didn’t really move the plot a whole lot. It did give us a couple of nice character moments between Paige, Emily, and Ali so there is that.

I don’t really ship anyone on this show anymore (except for Mona and Hanna, my crack-ship) so I didn’t really care if Emison or Paily are endgame, but I liked how all three of them behaved like the adults that they are in this episode. Paige was especially understanding of the situation and knew that Emily didn’t mean it when she said that she wants Paige to stay and to give this relationship a try. No one in their right mind would stay in that situation because it would just create such a mess and for sure feelings would have gotten hurt.

What Alison said about Emily was very sweet and probably made the shippers very happy, but was I right in what I heard Paige say that the reason Ali was acting terrible when they were young was because she wasn’t sure about her feelings for Emily and that’s why she acted the way she did in order to ignore those feelings? That’s pretty awful to use that as an excuse, but for whatever reason, I can actually sympathize and somewhat believe this to a certain degree. It sucks that she had to go through that, but I hope Ali comes to terms with who she is now and embrace and love herself and to fully commit to a relationship with Emily.

Ezra and Aria: who the fuck cares? Seriously, does anyone? They are so much more interesting separately than together.

Aria acting as AD’s minion and spying on her friends…wow. I’m speechless. I don’t even know how the other girls will react when they find out about Aria lying to them. So is she now part of the AD now that she was given a black hoodie?

Ezra really was behaving weirdly after he saw Spencer and Wren. What was THAT about? I’ve a nagging suspicion that he knows exactly who Wren is and that’s why he didn’t board his flight. Something’s afoot.

Maybe it’s because I didn’t watch the episodes half of last season and the first half of this season, but I don’t understand why Mary Drake is being all secretive and has to hide. Is she wanted for murder? What’s going on? Guess that’s the end of Spencer and Furey.

I saved the best for last: Mona and Hanna looking over the board game was PERFECTION. Mona admiring it for its craftsmanship and practically swooning over it made me laugh so much. Hanna saying “Do you two want to be left alone?” cracked me up even more. I really don’t get why it took any of the girls this long to tell Mona about the board game. The girl is a genius and can probably help them win the game before it self-destructs. Best thing Hanna has done was to tell Mona about it so kudos to you, Hanna. I liked how Hanna enticed Mona to help her. “Think about how much it’ll feel when you beat it.” Smart cookie.

Leave a Reply

