“I accidentally shot a time machine”

Episode Title: Mother
Original Air Date: May 19, 2017
Episode Number: 3×01

Episode Description

In the apocalypse of 2163, a desperate Cole searches for Titan. Meanwhile, a captive Railly is faced with an impossible choice as the 12 Monkeys await the arrival of The Witness.

My Review

So excited to have this show back and for SyFy to release all of the episodes within three days, yes! Guess regular TV viewing is out of the window and binge-watching is in.

The meeting of Future Asshole with Current Asshole had me laughing my ass off because of the greeting. I thought this was a very cool scene with FutureCole wearing his cool-looking suit to prevent a paradox and I loved that he saved PresentCole from getting stuck in Titan because that would have fucked up everything. FutureCole being vague about Cassie to PresentCole was very smart because otherwise he would not have stopped looking for Cassie which wouldn’t help their cause at all.

Cassie’s idea worked because now Cole is going to look for Jennifer to continue the fight against the 12 Monkey Army. Speaking of Jennifer, omg, her one scene was the highlight of the episode. Her singing 99 Luftballons in German and re-imagining what she’s seeing and turning it into something happy and bright had me rolling in laughter. Definitely a much-needed moment of levity in an otherwise grim episode. I love Jennifer.

Cassie trying to kill herself so that the Witness is killed was a great idea, but it’s unfortunate that Magdalena was way ahead of her by traveling back in time to warn the rest of the Army. Looks like she’s going to be a formidable foe this season. Her screaming at Cassie to push made me want to smack her and if I were Cassie, I would have kicked her in the face, lol.

It was nice to see Dominique Provost Chalkley show up here as Arianna (hi, Wynonna Earp fans!) who sacrificed herself so that Cassie could escape (well, initially). It was also nice to see Hannah again and I hope she’s a regular this season. Girl can kick ass and I clapped when she punched Cole after he got back into the present.

There were a lot of great lines in this episode so I’m just going to list a few of them:

“And with each passing day, hope becomes a distant memory.”

“Time is no longer on our side.”

“Don’t be a little shit.”

“Greetings, asshole. I’m future asshole.”

“Turns out the key to the future is chock full of nuts.”

Great start to the new season. Not sure where the story will go from here, but I’ll be here for the ride.

Leave a Reply

