“I’ll be the one dressed as Audrey Hepburn”

Episode Title: You Get What You Need
Original Air Date: April 2, 2017
Episode Number: 1×07

Episode Description

After yet another fight, Celeste makes a bold move. Before the school’s long-awaited fall fundraiser, Madeline deals with fallout from her past, while Jane learns who’s really been hurting Amabella at school.

My Review

I am completely blown away by the entire miniseries and this finale. We all were suspicious of Perry being Jane’s rapist and him being the one who ends up dead, but when both reveals happened, they were still quite shocking. This show was so well done and I am just so proud of everyone involved with the show. There’s no way anyone else will win the Emmy and the Golden Globe for Best Miniseries because they will sweep all of the miniseries categories. There’s no doubt about it.

The biggest shocker was definitely seeing Bonnie being the one to push and kill Perry. My jaw dropped on the floor. She is most likely a pacifist so for her to go out of that head space and become violent was a shock, but I fucking cheered like crazy when she did it. Women protecting women. It’s a beautiful thing.

The last 10 minutes of the episode had me crying like a baby. Jane’s face when she realizes that it’s the man who raped her…Madeline’s face when she sees Jane’s face…Celeste’s face when she sees Madeline and Jane’s faces…oh my God. I started tearing up right then and there. What an absolutely fantastic scene. No words needed. All three actresses did a terrific job conveying with their faces and letting us know what is going on. All the fucking awards, man.

I loved that this incident made Madeline, Celeste, Jane, Renata, and Bonnie become closer and become genuine friends. The last scene with all five of the women and their kids enjoying each other’s company and having a great time made me so happy for all of them. It was the perfect scene to end this perfect miniseries.

Also, how beautiful was it to see Celeste taking off her cardigan and feeling free for the first time and no longer hiding any bruises. It broke my heart.

Well done, show. This has been one of the best things I’ve watched this year and I can’t wait to read the book and watch everyone sweep all the awards.

Leave a Reply

