“We’re trying to plug a hole in the universe”

Episode Title: There’s More Than One of Everything
Original Air Date: May 12, 2009
Episode Number: 1×20

Episode Description

Setting the stage for the dramatic and revealing first season finale are a sudden and unexpected attack on someone with close ties to Fringe Division, the return of bioterrorist David Robert Jones, and the inexplicable disappearance of Walter. Find out more about the mysterious events surrounding our trio when questions are answered, observations made, loyalties are tested and the elusive William Bell is finally introduced.

My Review

Ahhhhh, so good. SO FUCKING GOOD. I have seen this episode several times already and all of the reveals still fucking blow my mind every single time. Leonard Nimoy as William Bell! The Twin Towers are still standing! Olivia travelling to the alternate universe! Peter’s grave! David Robert Jones getting sliced in half! Oh my freaking God. This episode is one of the series’ best episodes ever and when I first saw this, I cursed out loud because we had to wait five months for the show to come back for the second season, lol.

Okay, where to start? Jones looking for a “soft spot” so he can travel to the alternate universe so he can get to Bell is the most radical thing ever, but not for this show, obviously. The places he went to locate the right spot had very bad things happening in them, but at the same time, I can’t help but think COOL. That truck getting cut in half and the FBI not being able to pull up any information on the driver and the truck? I mean, come on. How is that not cool? Not so much that guy playing soccer and getting cut in half. That was not cool at all. It was cool when it happened to Jones, though, lol. Guy deserved that kind of death and at least he went out in true dramatic fashion as he’s wont to do with his exits and entrances. Gonna miss Jones. He was a fantastic villain.

Leonard fucking Nimoy as William Bell. That was a casting coup for this show and it must have been a true honor for everyone involved to have Leonard come out of retirement to play this character. Love that he was a fan of the show and it most definitely drove every nerd/geek into hysterics when it was announced he was going to be on the show. I just remembered the Spock shoutout in the previous episode. Oh show, you are so cheeky sometimes. I love it!

Olivia crossing over to the alternate universe without even realizing it was AWESOME. I believe it happened while she was driving to the hotel and she almost hit another car. She was supposed to meet Nina in her universe, but of course, when she calls Nina’s office she’s told Nina is out of the country because she’s already in the other universe! Did she travel to another universe when that light show happened in the elevator? Just how many universes are there?!

And then of course we have the reveal of the Twin Towers still standing in this universe and I remember seeing this episode for the first time when it aired and I was just blown away by this. My jaw was on the floor and my mind was blown. Such a daring and bold move for this show and they did it perfectly that this whole thing didn’t come off as emotionally manipulative or just for a stunt. It was resonant and just…wow. I don’t even have the words to articulate how I felt watching this scene.

Then we have Walter visiting Peter’s grave (!!!!) in the end. Like with everyone else here, this scene strongly lends to the theory that Walter went to the other universe to take the Peter from there because his Peter was dying and that’s who is in that grave. This explains why Peter has no recollections of so many things that Walter has mentioned about his childhood and what he used to do. Plus, we also had that scene in their beach house where Walter said “I became convinced that if only I could cross over myself, then I could take from there what I had lost here.” Commence freaking out if you’ve managed to stay calm so far, lol.

God, I love this show. Rewatching season one has been an exciting and exhilarating experience and just made me fall in love with the show all over again. S1 is one of the finest seasons of any series, sci-fi or otherwise. Seasons two and three are nothing to sniff at either and I can’t wait to rewatch those as well along with seasons four and five.

Leave a Reply

