“You were always the strong one”

Episode Title: Bad Dreams
Original Air Date: April 21, 2009
Episode Number: 1×17

Episode Description

Olivia dreams about a suicide as the event really happens at Grand Central Station; shocking information about the Z.F.T. manuscript is revealed.

My Review

This remains one of my very favorite episodes and one of the show’s best episodes ever so I was pretty excited to rewatch this again. This is probably the fifth or sixth time I’ve seen this and it’s still as great and perfect as the first time I watched it. From beginning to end, it really was perfection and the epitome of a perfect Fringe episode.

The show amped up the Cortexiphan mythology and introduced another character who was experimented on as a kid by Bell and Walter and recruiting them and training them as soldiers to fight “denizens from a parallel universe.” My jaw dropped when this line was uttered because we had no idea how far this would go and how this will affect the rest of the series. Mind. Blown.

All of Olivia’s dreams were pretty traumatic and it was great to see her and Walter figure out what exactly is happening with her and how to combat it. I would like to thank Akiva Goldsman (who wrote and directed this episode) for putting in that gratuitous scene of Olivia sharing a kiss with that stripper, heh. I’m not gonna lie and say I didn’t enjoy that because I did!

I noticed that Peter was a calming presence whenever Olivia would lose her temper or when she needed to be calmed down during her hypnotic state. Olivia showing a bit of vulnerability when she broke down looking scared because she doesn’t know what’s wrong with her and opening up to Peter was nice to see. I swear I’m not a shipper, lol. What I liked about this is that you have Olivia, Ms. Serious All the Time and who doesn’t let her guard down and who always has these walls put up around her, she was so scared that she let Peter see her in that moment and wanted someone to reassure her that everything will be okay.

I felt so sorry for Nick pleading with “Olive” to shoot him because he doesn’t want to kill or hurt anyone else. I’ve always thought the actor does a great job during this emotional scene and I like his chemistry with Olive. I felt even more sorry for him for being put under a medical-induced coma for his safety and for other people’s safety. I wonder who visited him in the hospital and if that person really did activate Nick and this is just the beginning of the ZFT’s plan to wake up all their soldiers.

And then we have that last scene with Walter watching a tape of Olive looking afraid and sitting in the corner. I’m going to pretend I don’t know what happened so here’s my reaction as if this is the first time I watched this episode: whaaaaat?! Was Walter downplaying his involvement at the experiments with Bell? How long has he known that Olivia is Olive and if it’s a coincidence that she was the one who helped get him out of St. Claire’s? So many questions!

Random thought: I do love that the show has an explanation as to why Olivia’s wardrobe is mostly composed of dark colors and grays. It’s because she was also a recruit and a solider who was experimented on and pegged to be part of the ZFT agenda. I love this little detail so much.

I laughed at Walter saying “Astral…” and Astrid correcting him and then him continuing on with his thought “…projection.” LOL.

Leave a Reply

