Episode Title: Somebody’s Dead
Original Air Date: February 19, 2017
Episode Number: 1×01

Episode Description

In the affluent beachfront community of Monterey, California, a suspicious death at a coastal elementary school fundraiser draws attention to the frictions among some of the mothers. Madeline and Celeste, longtime friends and confidantes, welcome newcomer Jane and her son, Ziggy, into their inner circle, much to the chagrin of another mother, Renata. An incident with the children at school causes battle lines to be drawn.

My Review

Better late than never, right? Finally have a bit of time to catch up on this show and so far so good. I like the first episode and I like all of the female characters and the male characters, too, except maybe for Perry. I knew there was something about him that I just couldn’t peg and then we saw it in the last scene between him and Celeste where he almost took her arm off. He might seem like the perfect dad and husband on the surface, but if you look much closer, he’s far from being that.

Reese Witherspoon as Madeline Martha Mackenzie (what a name) is marvelous (just to keep the ‘m’ thing going) in this role. I truly felt every emotion Madeline went through and I sympathize with her being out of sorts about losing her girls. I liked that she befriended Jane right away and I laughed every time she introduced Jane as “This is my new best friend.” Really sweet scene with her and Abigail in the end, but what was that look Abigail gave her mom and Chloe? Was that jealousy?

Jane is running away from someone and it’s made clear when she took out that gun and put it underneath her pillow before going to sleep. Is she running away from her mother (doesn’t seem like it since she called her back to say ‘I love you’ but hung up before her mom could say it back…seems like your average mother/daughter relationship)? Is she running away from Ziggy’s dad? I can’t wait to find out. Did Ziggy really hurt that little girl? Makes me wonder if Ziggy has seen someone do the same thing (I’m thinking his dad abusing his mom) and he doesn’t know any better so he goes and hurts that girl.

Battle lines are drawn. Team Renata vs. Team Madeline. Should be interesting. It cracks me up that it’s Laura Dern vs. Reese’s characters in this show because they played mother and daughter in that movie Wild. Curious how Renata reacted when her husband made that comment about women and how competitive and catty they can get.

I wonder who ends up dead in the present day. I’m putting my money on Perry because he was the one character who I just had a bad feeling about. Wouldn’t be surprised if Team Madeline helped Celeste kill him off a la the Dixie Chicks’ Goodbye Earl music video.

Leave a Reply

