“If I am speaking, I am sure”

Episode Title: Justice
Original Air Date: May 7, 2017
Episode Number: 6×04

Episode Description

Selina and her team attend the funeral of a Supreme Court justice. Amy works on securing a location for Selina’s library. Dan tries to maintain his upswing with Jane, his co-host. Jonah finds an issue.

My Review

Yet another hilarious episode and the show is keeping up the high quality it has set for itself. Since the misfire that was the premiere episode, I think this season is shaping up to be one of the show’s best. Amy is now back with the team and we have Team Jonah as the other contingent and Dan is by himself in TV land. I wonder what’s going to happen to have him come back working with Selina. Although, I do kinda like him being a TV anchor because his dynamic with Jane is very interesting and I wonder if the show will go there with the two of them sleeping together or if Jane is just fucking with him whenever she’s being nice to him.

I always keep my eye on Gary even when he’s in the background because that’s when he does the most hilarious things. Tony Hale is pretty great at the physical comedy and I couldn’t stop laughing when he fainted/suffered his own heart attack in the background upon hearing that Selina had a small heart attack.

Selina trying to be nice to Gary is just so sad yet hilarious. She doesn’t give a shit about him and I feel so sorry for him, but at the same time it seems like he doesn’t mind the abuse that much since he’s so blindly loyal and probably in love with her. What would Selina do without Gary? Hell, she doesn’t even know her own password for her phone. And she didn’t know anything about Gary (he’s 40, lives in Hoboken – PATH Train shoutout, hey!). What a shame and yet I still laughed. Does that make me as horrible as Selina?

I love Kent and his constant need at correcting everyone. I would hate someone in real life who does things like this, but on this show, I love him and he cracks me up. Thanks to him, I now know that Daylight Saving (not plural) Time is the correct term. The whole DST scene with Jonah and Ben was comedy gold. Ben says Jonah is late an hour and Kent corrects him and says “58 minutes.” Jonah says that he didn’t know DST started today and Kent corrects him “it started yesterday.”

The Tanz/Jonah scene, omg, I was laughing so hard when Tanz donated one cent to Jonah’s campaign and didn’t even sign it. Jonah’s face when Tanz pulled out his check book (all smiles) and then when he found out the amount (frowny face) was priceless. Nice twist with Tanz fully on board the Jonah train after that meeting, though.

Amy competing with Richard was tough to watch because it makes Amy look desperate. Richard, of course, is oblivious to all this and it’s quite endearing to watch. Why doesn’t Selina like Amy anymore? Someone remind me why their relationship is strained. Is it because Selina blames Amy (partly) for her losing the presidency?

I couldn’t stop laughing at Dan looking so dark in that last clip with him doing his Rwanda story. Will people think he was trying to do blackface during this segment? Oh dear. Is Jane screwing with him?

Lastly, a few bon mots that I loved.

“Reading. Could it be bad for your child’s self-esteem? Why one Texas mom wants to phase it out.”

“It’s the day after Daylight Saving Time. It’s my favorite holiday ’cause it’s kinda like living in a tiny version of Back To the Future.”

“I haven’t slept with a woman over 30 since I was 14 and that’s ’cause I needed the grade.”

“How are you feeling, by the way?”
“Good.”
“Then shut the fuck up.”

Leave a Reply

