“I like puzzles”

Episode Title: Moving Targets
Original Air Date: May 7, 2017
Episode Number: 5×22

Episode Description

When a reality show contestant is murdered, Holmes and Watson zero in on another competitor as a suspect, a former war criminal who may be the most skilled killer they’ve ever pursued. Also, for the first time since he attacked Sherlock, Shinwell reaches out to Joan to ask for a favor.

My Review

Love this episode and much love and kudos to Lucy Liu for doing a fantastic job at the director’s chair! So cool to see her name under “Directed By”, definitely a proud moment for me and for her.

The case was very good and of course I had a feeling that it would lead back to that reality show host because he’s one of those “Hey, it’s that guy” guy and sure enough, it led back to him. I liked how the case went in all different directions with the Ugandan war criminal, to the jersey mafioso, to the Alpha Hawk gun CEO, and then back to the reality show host.

Shinwell is dead. I don’t think anyone is surprised. I wonder if it’s SBK-related or someone else was out to get him. I still shake my head every time Shinwell and Joan met because I’m sure SBK would spy on their own and Joan meeting Shinwell would have put both of their lives in danger. I really hope Joan doesn’t get hurt in the next episode and gets out of that place as fast as possible.

How perfect was that Sherlock/Joan scene in the loft with Sherlock expressing his concern for Joan’s safety and Shinwell putting her in danger? I got teary-eyed when he said “One of the reasons I work so hard not to lose myself is ’cause I fear I would also lose you.” That’s as much of an “I love you” in my book. Seriously, these two have the best platonic relationship on TV. See that, other TV shows? A male character and female character can have a relationship without it turning romantic. It can be done!

Shocking to see Sherlock sleeping, lol. “You’re sleeping. You never sleep.” “I rarely sleep. There is a difference.”

This exchange between Joan and the mafia head cracked me up:

“Milo committed suicide.”
“He was stabbed 16 times.”
“Hardest he’s ever worked in his life.”

The contestant taking a selfie with Marcus and Sherlock arresting Dr. Eriyo was also very funny. Sherlock’s face? Priceless.

Lastly, I hope the show gets renewed for another season because I am not ready to say goodbye to these characters and Sherlock and Joan’s beautiful relationship.

Leave a Reply

