“I like nightmares. When I wake up, they leave me deeply valuing my reality.”

Episode Title: With Or Without You
Original Air Date: April 23, 2017
Episode Number: 2×10

Episode Description

Axe deals with a major family disturbance involving Lara and the kids. Chuck considers the potential pitfalls of his personal life while being vetted for political advancement. Wendy tries to right a wrong she committed against Axe. At an impromptu dinner Chuck and Wendy open up to each other.

My Review

Axe leaving those messages to Lara was very interesting because he went from angry, to scared, to contrite, to outright rage by the end and I just couldn’t help but laugh at the range of emotions he exhibited during these voicemail messages. It also cracked me up when he was in the middle of leaving an angry voicemail and the guard at his front gate called to tell him Lara is on her way to the house.

I see why Axe is boiling with rage, though. One lie in the 15 years that they’ve been married and Lara is off with the boys just to sock it to Axe. She definitely overreacted and it’s not because he lied; it’s because Wendy is involved and she just could not understand or fathom the fact that there is this one spot in Axe’s life that no one but Wendy can fulfill. Lara is so desperate to get rid of Wendy from their lives that she even offers Wendy money to leave their life for good.

Wendy, ever the stubborn professional that she is, just doesn’t know when to quit because this is her true calling. If I were her, I would have taken the money and ran because all this drama is not worth it. She can easily get a similar job at another hedge fund company. They’re all the same, aren’t they?

What the hell did Lara mean when she name-checked Apollonia? I thought for a second that the did check her messages because I thought that Axe made a reference to that in his earlier messages, but obviously I’m mistaken and this is in reference to The Godfather. Axe erasing those voicemail messages could end up biting him in the ass.

It’s good that Wendy and Chuck seem to be finding their way back to each other, but I just can’t with the bondage and all that sexual stuff. At least we were spared of having to see a naked Chuck. It was nice to see the two of them drinking their juice and then having a nice dinner. It was also fun when they tried to sneak out like teenagers and skipped their therapy session.

Mary Louise Parker is vetting Chuck. I didn’t even know she was going to be on this show so I’m assuming she will be a regular next season. The first thought that came to mind when I saw her was “Huh, she and Chuck will definitely be banging by next season.” I would love it if the show doesn’t go there because it’d just be too predictable.

Taylor diving in the deep end and going all in at Axe Capital is making me nervous for them. If everything comes crashing down, Axe will throw them into the fire leaving himself and the company unharmed. Taylor is going down a slippery slope. It’ll only be a matter of time before Bryan and company have something on them and that’s when they’ll strike. Also, where is Taylor living now that they’re only paying $1,200 a month for rent? If they’re living in the city, I want to know where this apartment is.

Leave a Reply

