“This can’t possibly be scientific”

Episode Description: In Which We Meet Mr. Jones
Original Air Date: November 11, 2008
Episode Number: 1×07

Episode Description

When a strange parasite attaches itself to the internal organs of a dying FBI agent, Olivia suspects a connection to the Pattern; Peter and Walter tap into a dead man’s brain waves.

My Review

YES! I do believe that this is the episode where the show elevated to another plateau, quality-wise, and it never looked back. I noticed that JJ Abrams co-wrote the episode so it made me smile that he helped introduce a great character and villain in Mr. Jones and really got this whole first season into gear with the introduction of the ZFT and that whole conspiracy.

There were so many great things in this episode and it’s one of my favorite episodes of the whole series. The only minor quibble I have is the scene with Olivia and Lucas in Lucas’ place where they were about to have sex until Peter called Olivia’s cell. I thought it was unnecessary in what is an otherwise perfect Fringe episode. I do appreciate Olivia’s “sex” hair after she got off the phone with Peter, though, lol. It looked very hot.

When I first saw this episode and saw that parasite on Loeb’s heart, I cringed so bad. Again, this is why nobody should watch this show while eating any type of food. So Mr. Jones and the Loebs are working together? Both parties seemed very keen about the Little Hill answer provided by Joseph Smith. It’s been a while since I’ve watched this show so I don’t remember anything at all about Little Hill after this episode.

I thought it was very cool how Peter figured out what the horizontal lines mean and to come up with Little Hill. Also very smart of the show to come up with a place (fictional or real) that could work with those horizontal lines. Poor Peter realizing that Walter experimented on him when he was little when Walter accidentally let it slip that he used to shock Peter’s brain. Tsk, tsk, Walter.

Really like Jared Harris as Mr. Jones and no matter what else he appears in, he will always be David Robert Jones to me. I kind of cheered when we first see him and he’s sitting on the bench with his eyes closed and then he “wakes up” and people who’ve seen this show will know why this got me excited.

Broyles giving Olivia a hard time in this episode made me think he’s such a hard-ass (which he is and should be since he’s the boss), but I think his demeanor was a lot more stern than normal because his friend’s life was on the line. I really love what he told Olivia in the end:

“You have a problem, Agent Dunham. You’re not easily satisfied. You want everything and you want it now. In your mind, somehow a small victory is no victory. Stop whining about what you can’t know, can’t control, can’t change. I would tell you those things, but I won’t because your dissatisfaction is what makes you so damn good. Someone I’m proud to say I work with.”

That is a great compliment coming from one’s boss. And this is also part of why Olivia Dunham is my favorite character ever. There’s just so many great layers about her and I could go on and on, but I’m going to save that for another time.

Other random observations:

– Walter called Astrid “Astro” and “Asteroid.” Hee.

– “You got super powers you’re not telling me about?” I see what you did there, show.

– “Agent Dunham, there is much of the Pattern that you have not been made aware of.” “Well, I’m here. I have time. Are you available?” I love sassy Olivia.

– “Hello, Peter, this is me, your father, Walter Bishop.” “Thank you, Walter. I know who you are.” “Excellent.” HAHAHAHAHAHA. Oh, Walter. Never change.

– “Yes, he still has a head.”

– “You’re very serious, do you know that?” Mr. Jones to Olivia. Story of her life.

– “My phone doesn’t have the best reception in prison isolation cells.” Sassy Olivia strikes again.

Leave a Reply

