“This is an insane place”

Episode Title: Visiting Hours
Original Air Date: April 17, 2017
Episode Number: 5×09

Episode Description

Norman’s legal problems get worse. Emma tends to family business while Dylan finds himself caught between his past and his future. Romero sets out to get revenge.

My Review

I can’t believe there’s only one episode left ever of this show. I’m really not ready to say goodbye no matter what happens in next week’s episode. But first, we have the penultimate episode and it was pretty great, as per the norm for this show. It was a showcase for Olivia Cooke and, boy, did she deliver. Having been put in the backburner for most of this season, her character came back in full force.

Kudos to Olivia for playing Emma’s anger and confusion and hurt perfectly. I don’t blame her at all for acting cold towards Dylan because how could she not? His brother killed her mother and even though she didn’t have the greatest relationship with her mother, that’s still her blood relative, the woman who gave birth to her. She cannot not feel anger towards whoever killed her mother.

I feel for Dylan, though. The guy is stuck between a rock and a hard place, literally. If he tries to help Norman, Emma will feel betrayed somehow. And since Dylan is a nice guy, he will not, in good conscience, just leave his brother to possibly get sentenced with the death penalty because if that’s what happens, Dylan will not be able to forgive himself. But then, this will definitely put his marriage at risk and break up his family so I really would not want to be in Dylan’s position right now.

And to top it off, Madeleine pretty much accused him of being responsible for Norman committing all these (alleged) murders knowing full well that Norman should have been incarcerated or in a psychiatric facility. The guilt on Dylan has got to be immense. He could have done something about it, but instead, he ran away. Oh boy. He’s never going to forgive himself for this.

My favorite part of the episode was definitely Emma talking to Mother and realizing that she’s not talking to Norman so she tells Mother to tell Norman a message for her: “Can you tell him that I miss him?” I got so choked up during this scene and I was surprised at how much it affected me. Memories of season one Emma and Norman came back to my mind and I think I got so emotional because they really were very good friends before all this shit went down.

I also really liked the scene where Emma visited Norma’s grave and telling her that she’s sorry and that she misses her. This calls to mind the scene where Dylan breaks down in Norma’s bedroom and keeps saying over and over “I’m sorry, I’m sorry.”

Emma and Dylan just broke my heart. They’re probably not going to have their happy ending after all. Damn you, Mother!!! Did anyone else melted when Dylan told Emma “I never wanted to bring you anything but happiness” because I sure did.

Romero taking the whole sheriff department hostage to get Norman out is going to end up being his downfall. No way will he survive this. We’re not sure if Norman will survive because the show has deviated from its source material before (e.g. Marion Crane’s fate) so the writers could very well have Romero and Norman end up dead. Romero shooting Norman and then shooting himself because he wouldn’t have anything to live for since he would have already done what he set out to do to avenge Norma’s death.

Lastly, I loved the one bit of humor in this episode. It’s where Emma was talking to the funeral parlor people and the woman asked her what religious affiliation her mother is in and Emma goes “She belonged to the church of herself.” I laughed.

Leave a Reply

