“I just pissed myself. Just a squirt.”

Episode Title: Pilot
Original Air Date: September 9, 2008
Episode Number: 1×01

Episode Description

When all the passengers on a plane die, FBI agent Olivia Dunham investigates the events and her partner almost dies. A desperate Olivia looks for help from Dr. Walter Bishop who has been institutionalized. Olivia, Dr. Bishop and his son Peter begin to discover what really happened on Flight 627 and begin to uncover a larger truth.

My Review

Fringe is one of my very favorite shows and I’ve always wanted to do a rewatch of the whole series so I guess now is a good time as any to start. It’s a lot tougher marathoning shows these days because we don’t have a break anymore in between TV seasons because gone are the days when everyone took off for summer. Having said that, this rewatch will probably encompass the rest of the year since I’ll have to sneak in an episode here and there when I have finished catching up with all of my current shows.

On to the pilot. I remember watching the leaked pilot months before the show officially premiered and I remember really liking it a lot and was excited for other people to watch it and see how they reacted. The buzz was very positive which I was glad about because I just wanted the show to succeed.

The opening scene with the people’s skins and faces melting was classic Fringe. That’s some way to start off your show, that’s for sure. I was taken aback by how cold and dismissive Broyles was to Olivia in this episode. I’ve totally forgotten that her investigation into Broyles’ friend(s?) led to his friend’s name being besmirched (or was the friend jailed?) and that’s why Broyles kept on giving her a hard time. I laughed every time Broyles called her “Liaison” in that derogatory way because of how he said it and how forced the accent was.

I cringed every time Peter called Olivia “sweetheart” and cheered when she said “Call me ‘sweetheart’ one more time, I’d really like that.” Olivia Dunham is not here for your bullshit; let’s get it straight. Also loved how gung-ho Olivia was on getting herself onto that plane. She didn’t sit around and wait around for the higher ups to do the heavy lifting. She wanted in on the action. Also loved how proactive she was in trying to save John’s life and would try everything (being drugged and put in a tank naked) so that he would live. Early on we get an idea of how great this character is going to be and how driven she is and dedicated to the ones she loves.

I still laugh at Walter’s first line to Peter: “I thought you’d be fatter” and Peter’s response to this, lol. Never change, Bishops. It was great to see Peter softening up a little bit in regards to Walter and getting into it with helping him in the lab and helping Olivia. Also interesting to see Walter getting worried about Peter’s health. Having seen the entire series, this is very cool, I thought.

Nina Fucking Sharp! Her and Olivia getting on the wrong foot and being adversaries in the beginning was great. We didn’t really see much of her, but that ending with her taking John’s body and using it for whatever purposes in Massive Dynamics was quite chilling. What are they up to??!

John being a traitor made me feel so bad for Olivia. All that work she did and it was all for nothing. Screw you, John! But of course, before he died, he said this little intriguing thing “Ask yourself why Broyles sent you to that storage facility.” Dun dun dun!

How beautiful were the shots of the outside scenes in the snow? I loved the shots at the tarmac where you can see everyone’s breaths. How badass was Olivia running after the suspect and doing it inelegantly and believably with her falling on to the dumpster and rolling off it on falling to the ground? The very best thing about this is the fact that she is wearing sensible shoes!!! Just another thing why Olivia Dunham is my very favorite character in the history of ever.

Leave a Reply

