“You gotta let me go”

Episode Title: R For Romeo
Original Air Date: April 2, 2017
Episode Number: 6×11

Episode Description

Carrie and Quinn make a discovery while Keane makes a decision and Max finds trouble.

My Review

People who tuned out of this show after the few lackluster seasons are really missing out of this terrific season. The show is back to form and the quality of the episodes have been right up there with the earlier seasons. Seems like the show got back its creative mojo after the time jump and setting this season in New York.

Wow, this episode was packed that I don’t even know where to start.

Might as well start with the big one: that bomb. I had a bad feeling when Quinn told Carrie what the R meant on the board and then Carrie went to find the solicitor general and then she went outside to make a call and then you had that bad connection as she was talking to Rob. The whole scene just felt ominous. Too bad she wasn’t able to warn the agents not to open that garage door. That was rough. I hope the solicitor general is unharmed because I’m hoping that he already saw the picture of Sekou’s family in the van and he can use that to build his case.

I know everyone has been saying that Rupert Friend needs to be nominated for his work this season and I agree, but I wasn’t fully on board not because I didn’t agree, but because I just haven’t been really wowed by his performance. That is, until the beginning of this episode. Truly terrific work with him stammering and barely getting the words out to explain to Carrie what’s really going on and blaming her for making him this way. Him acting like a monkey was extreme and I blame the writers for that, but I did really enjoy his performance before that.

I also liked the scene after he killed the sniper when he finally told Carrie why he was hellbent on killing the guy. It’s because he killed Astrid and Quinn blames himself for it so the only way that he knows how to avenge Astrid’s death is to kill the guy. The solicitor general was right, though. The sniper would have been a great witness, but I don’t blame Quinn at all because the thought didn’t even occur to me. I just wanted him to die as much as Quinn. But surely the FBI can glean more evidence from what’s left and find out the identities of the other men that were staying in the house.

Now on to Max and Dar. I really thought Max would have been dead already, but thank God he’s not! I had to laugh when Dar pretty much kidnapped Max so that he can help him figure out what O’Keefe is doing with Quinn on his computer. Dar saying “Can you get into his computer?” just seemed silly compared to the gravity of the situation. I don’t know, maybe it’s just me. At least this keeps Max alive which I’m quite happy about.

This leads me to believe, though, that O’Keefe answers to someone else and that someone else is not Dar. Things just got even more interesting. If Dar is not aware that O’Keefe is using Quinn’s identity to create anti-Keane propaganda, then someone else must have ordered him to do so. It’s not Dar because of the events in this episode and Dar, evil as he is, would not allow that to happen to Quinn.

So if Dar is not the big bad, then who is? I wonder if it’s the lame duck president? Do we know if he and Keane are on the same political party? At this point, I don’t even know who it could be and why go to such great lengths to discredit and besmirch the president-elect’s name.

Speaking of, Keane putting O’Keefe in his place was a sight to behold. He’s everything that is wrong with the media right now. Just because he has a microphone and a camera, he feels he has the right to say and do whatever he wants, which of course he does, but to flat out say lies and make slanderous accusations about Keane and her dead son…that’s just unconscionable. I got chills when Saul made that speech about Keane and her staff missing the point and how the same thing happened in several countries which the US actually had a hand in and which were successful campaigns that pretty much threw out the elected leader out of office before they even had a chance to get into office.

One misstep that Keane made, in my opinion, was being stubborn about coming through the front of the hotel despite being told that the protesters have grown in size. What exactly would that serve? She’s endangering herself, her staff, the protesters, the cops, and the Secret Service. Case in point, that dumbass who ran onto oncoming traffic just so he can shove that sign on the president-elect’s car detail? I’m not saying he didn’t deserve what happened to him, but I’m also not saying that he deserved what happened to him.

Anyway, this got pretty long, lol. Thanks for reading it if you made it all the way to the end. This is what happens when I watch an engrossing and brilliant episode. I always feel the need to address every aspect of it.

Leave a Reply

