“She is the job. She is the essence of your duty.”

Episode Title: Wolferton Splash
Original Air Date: November 4, 2016
Episode Number: 1×01

Episode Description

A young Princess Elizabeth marries Prince Philip. As King George VI’s health worsens, Winston Churchill is elected prime minister for the second time.

My Review

I have been meaning to watch this ever since it won all those awards so I’m glad that I finally have a bit of time to hopefully finish this before all the shows come back from hiatus.

This is only the first episode, but I can already see why the show and Claire Foy won those awards (I’m sure I’ll see why John Lithgow won his awards later on in the series). This was really well-made and the production values seem high, not to mention the acting. We haven’t really seen much in the way of acting yet, but what I’ve seen so far, I’m very impressed.

Jared Harris is perfect as King George (he will always be that evil dude from Fringe for me, lol) and I really liked the scene the king had with Elizabeth. You could cut the tension with a knife. Elizabeth knows something is up, but is not quite ready to address it just yet. Meanwhile you have Phillip already suspecting something is up with the king, but is too worried or feels like it’s not his place to say anything.

I also really liked George’s scene with Phillip on the boat and his advice to Phillip that his duty is not to his job, but that she is the job and she is the essence of his duty. That was very good and made me think that that’s exactly how Phillip led his life. Always the dutiful husband right next to his wife and queen.

I laughed at Winston Churchill’s dramatic entrance to the church and asking the boys if he was the last one to arrive, lol. It should be interesting to see how his wife takes to his second term as prime minister. It was foreshadowed somewhat that she’s not happy he won because she looked tired of the spectacle and everything that has to do with being the wife to the prime minister.

Leave a Reply

