“Be as straight as you can be”

Episode Title: Pride & Prejudice
Original Air Date: January 6, 2017
Episode Number: 1×11

Episode Description

Although she wants to be accepting and open-minded, Penelope feels weird about Elena’s revelation. Seeking advice, she makes an unexpected connection.

My Review

Yet another amazing episode. This show is a real gem and I’m so happy that I listened to my friends and started watching this. Elena coming out to her Abuelita was perfect and now I’m kinda bummed that we didn’t actually see this scene. Although, I did love the scene after with Lydia and Penelope talking about how cool/not cool with Elena’s coming out.

“I am a religious woman. And I’m sorry, but I have a problem with Elena being gay. Although, God did make us in his image and God doesn’t make mistakes. And when it comes to the gays, the pope did say ‘Who am I to judge?’ and the pope represents God. So what? Am I going to go against the pope and God? Who the hell do I think I am?”

“What? You just worked that out in 10 seconds?”

“Yes, because she is my granddaughter and I love her no matter. So tell me, when is the parade?”

PERFECT. I couldn’t have envisioned a better scene myself.

I also liked that Penelope felt weird and didn’t feel okay with Elena being a lesbian at first and that was some really sound advice coming from the guy at the bar, that Penelope’s heart is good and that she just needs time for her brain to catch up. And look at that, she got a date out of the whole thing. Win-win. Penelope’s voicing her concerns are certainly valid and I’m sure a lot of parents with gay kids have felt this way one way or another, but that doesn’t mean they love their children any less. So well-written, this show.

Schneider being made an honorary Cuban was sweet. Loved that Penelope got in his head so much that he was basically embodying Penelope while he was watching Alex.

Glad to see Carmen again even though it was just through Skype. I laughed when she called Penelope “Ms. Y’Alvarez.” Cheesy but hilarious. Penelope’s “I love that little weirdo” made me miss their dynamic so much. I hope she comes back for Elena’s quinces.

These lines cracked me up.

“Blood type.”
“O positive.”
“Wrong. Red.”

“Elena, all of the girls will wish it was them inside your dress.”
“Dare to dream.”

“You play it cool, I’m texting back!”

Leave a Reply

