“I bear it so they don’t have to”

Episode Title: God Complex
Original Air Date: March 29, 2017
Episode Number: 4×08

Episode Description

After a disappointing discovery, Clarke and Abby question how far they’re willing to go. Meanwhile, Jaha finds a lead to the mysterious Second Dawn.

My Review

This will probably anger a lot of people, but can the shippers try not to make this show all about their ships? The characters are fighting for survival and the last thing on their minds should be about who they need to hook up with. Give it a break. This episode had none of the ships happening and it was all the better for it. I actually think this was the best episode of the season (so far) and reminded me why I fucking love this show and fell in love with it way back before the ships jumped on board this show.

Now on to the good stuff. I don’t know which scene was my favorite: it’s a toss up between Clarke injecting herself with the Nightblood and the Clarke/Roan conversation. Both scenes perfectly encapsulates the Clarke character and I’m so happy that she is back in full leadership mode, albeit with a bit of hesitation.

No one else wants to shoulder such an enormous burden and Clarke feels that it’s her duty to do so so she takes it upon herself to inject herself with the Nighblood instead of possibly killing Emori. Fact is, I truly think she believes that Abby’s solution would work this time and that’s why she injected herself, but of course, there’s that percentage where the solution wouldn’t work so instead of risking Emori’s life, she would rather sacrifice herself. Does that make sense? I’m rambling a bit.

In any case, I didn’t see this coming and when it happened, my jaw dropped and I couldn’t help but tear up. Abby’s reaction broke my heart because she couldn’t afford to lose Clarke and she ends up destroying the radiation chamber. Now they don’t have a way to test if this would really work until Clarke is exposed to the black rain. Oh, Abby. She is just delaying the process. Clarke holding Abby and telling her it’s okay truly breaks my heart.

The conversation between Roan and Clarke is right up there as one of the show’s best scenes to date. I enjoy their dynamic and how different and alike they are when it comes to being leaders. Roan respects and admires Clarke’s leadership skills and it takes a true leader to recognize and acknowledge that in another leader. If these two remain allies, they could really make a lot of difference and a lot of good work among the clans.

“You were born for this. Lexa knew it and so do I. You don’t back down when things get hard.”
“It’s always hard.”
“And yet here you are.”

Fantastic.

You know, I have a lot of issues with the group practically tying down Luna and taking her bone marrow without her consent and I just felt uncomfortable watching them do this. At the same time, I understand that they are doing this as a last and only resort to save humanity, but yet it doesn’t make it right. The same goes for them sacrificing that Grounder who was at the wrong place at the wrong time and then later on sacrificing Emori and putting her in the same chamber as that Grounder.

Now this is the show I signed up for. Good people caught in difficult situations and making the best out of it. Some of the decisions they make are immoral, but it’s for the benefit of the greater good. Tough.

The Murphy/Clarke confrontation was another great scene. These two have such a complicated relationship and when Murphy yelled out in anger that if Emori dies, Clarke dies, I gasped in shock. I have no doubt that if Emori would have died, he really would have come after Clarke. I want this relationship explored more in future episodes because it is just so rich and fascinating to me.

I also really liked the Raven/Abby scene where Abby’s taking the bone marrow from Luna and Raven comes in and says “So you’re just gonna strap her down and take her bone marrow? Welcome to Mt. Weather.” Ouch. Abby is right, though. “First we survive, then we find our humanity again.” It’s too bad Raven’s solution didn’t come to fruition because then they would have avoided going through the human experimentation.

Meanwhile in Polis, Jaha, Kane, indra, Monty, and Gaia finally found the right bunker and if the Nightbloods solution doesn’t work, this could very well be their last saving grace. It’s too bad it’s in Polis aka Azgeda nation and they are not exactly cooperating with the other clans especially Trikru. Indra going all Rambo and killing those Azgeda guards even after they have already been granted safe passage totally doesn’t help. I get that she doesn’t trust them, but Kane is right. The radiation would not care which clan you’re from, it will kill everyone in its path, so having these feuds seems a bit petty right now.

I wish the show would try to limit showing us scenes in Arkadia because that was the least interesting part of the episode for me and the same could be said about it in last week’s episode.

In any case, this was an amazing episode that made me proud to be a fan of this show. If only the rest of the episodes can be as high in quality as this one, I will be very happy.

Leave a Reply

