“Nothing like a crazy person announcing their own clarity”

Episode Title: Marion
Original Air Date: March 27, 2017
Episode Number: 5×06

Episode Description

A special guest checks into the motel; Dylan grapples with devastating news; Sam and Madeleine’s marriage reaches a crossroads.

My Review

Oh my God. That’s all I can muster saying over and over after watching this episode because it was absolutely brilliant. There have been so many amazing episodes of this show and this one is definitely right up there. I think Carlton Cuse and Kerry Ehrin threw everyone for a loop when they didn’t kill off Marion and instead have Norman kill Sam instead. Definitely saw that coming. I give them so many kudos for this twist and for still staying true to the original material and honoring it masterfully. Kudos to the director as well for the numerous homage shots to the original movie. Just tremendous work all around by the cast and crew.

I’m glad Marion survived and that Norman told her to leave ASAP before shit hits the fan so I really hope that Marion doesn’t come back for whatever contrived reason (the writers are better than that) because I think it would diminish the quality of this episode and this season just a tad.

And what can I say about Freddie and Vera? The fact that both of them (and this show) are continually ignored come awards season is a complete travesty. I’m not going to hold my breath for Freddie to be nominated because there is no justice in the world and this show’s fans can’t ever have nice things. Lord knows he surely deserves to be nominated and deserves to win over everyone else.

How amazing was that scene when Mother came out in full force and told Norman who she really is and told Norman to kill “that asshole in the other room”? I got chills during this scene and also the scene where Mother was throwing things on the floor just to get Norman to admit that she’s real. Holy shit. That was fucking mental. And I just love that even with all this craziness, the show added that hilarious scene (well, at least I thought it was funny) of Mother forcing Norman’s eyes to look at her by using her fingers to pry his lids open. What in the actual fuck? LOL.

I have to give kudos to Rihanna also because I thought she did a lot better in this episode especially in the scene where she’s in her car watching Sam and Madeleine argue through their window. Those were real tears, man! I also loved that she just let loose with beating the shit out of Sam’s car. That was awesome and I bet Rihanna enjoyed doing that. Definitely a great way to de-stress.

Emma and Dylan finding out about Norma’s death was heartbreaking and my heart broke even more when Dylan was talking to Norman and the two of them were arguing while on the verge of tears. So sad. There’s no doubt about it now. Dylan and Emma will probably go back to White Pine Bay to see Norman and find out exactly what the hell happened. This scares me because I don’t want them to fall victim to Norman’s brand of crazy.

So many great lines from this episode!

“I went out and got laid, big deal.”

“If I’m not here, then…why am I here?”

“I just enjoy stuffing them.”

“Nothing like a crazy person announcing their own clarity.”

“You’re not too little now, Norman.”

“Oh, mother, what have I done?”

Leave a Reply

