“So this is what you two have been doing, misplacing the king of France”

Episode Title: Love & Death
Original Air Date: March 24, 2017
Episode Number: 4×06

Episode Description

Mary must deal with the political repercussions of a potential marriage to Lord Darnley and King Charles disappears, leaving Catherine to pick up the pieces. Elizabeth comes to Gideon’s aid, while Claude receives an interesting proposition.

My Review

Love all the political intrigue in this episode with Mary and Elizabeth playing chess against each other. Mary figuring out what the ambassador’s plan was thanks to the Loyal Watchman was pretty awesome to see and I’m glad that Darnley survived. I have warmed up to the character and I like him now and I kinda want to see his relationship with Mary come to fruition.

Mary trying to shut her feelings off for Darnley for fear that she will fall for him and then lose him just like Francis was kind of heartbreaking to see. At least now she’s allowed herself a bit of happiness by letting Darnley in and allowing herself to possibly fall in love with him.

Oh, Leeza. Never change. Catherine and Narcisse’s plan had no chance in hell so I’m not surprised Leeza won this battle. France is in deep shit now. How are they going to get out of Spain’s thumb?

I can’t believe Leith would take off like that and accept a payoff from Narcisse, but I can’t really blame him. It has to be tough watching the person you love be someone else’s spouse and have to continue doing their spousal duties. Is Leith going to head to Scotland now? I hope not because I don’t want him to reunite with Greer because I want Greer and James to get together. Their one scene was very cute and I just love watching them together.

Poor Claude. She’s going to be utterly devastated, but at least Luc is an amazing person and she is lucky that he is understanding and good. You can’t ask for a better man than him. I can’t believe how understanding he is. He definitely wins most understanding husband in the history of television.

I absolutely loved Elizabeth and Gideon’s friendship and it broke my heart a little when she sat him down and told him what a fraud the doctor was and that his daughter was going to die. See? A platonic relationship between a man and a woman is possible. Just don’t make these two start to have feelings for each other.

Leave a Reply

