“I’m ready to Nancy Drew the crap out of this”

Episode Title: Star-Crossed
Original Air Date: March 20, 2017
Episode Number: 2×16

Episode Description

A new villain comes to National City, putting Supergirl on high alert. Meanwhile, Winn’s girlfriend, Lyra, gets Winn in trouble with the law. Maggie attempts to help Winn but old loyalties get in the way. The Music Meister attacks Supergirl.

My Review

Huh. I thought I signed up to watch Supergirl so when did this turn into the Mon-El show? If you’re a fan of Mon-El and his relationship with Kara, please skip over this comment because I don’t want to piss you off.

If this show continues to put Mon-El in the forefront and have Kara as his love interest, the show will lose viewers. I swear to God, if Chris Wood becomes a regular cast member next season, I’m going to rethink about watching this show. It would pain me to stop watching this show because I love all the other elements about it aside from Mon-El and all the toxicity that he brings to the show.

He keeps on saying he will change for Kara, but he still acts like a fucking entitled brat. That one scene where he’s lamenting about the fact that this is the point in the movie where the girl forgives the boy for whatever idiotic thing he did…I mean, what the fuck? Are the writers this fucking stupid? They are not helping Mon-El’s cause by having him spout this stupid dialogue.

I have to be honest and say that I really liked Mon-El when he first showed up and before he started to have feelings for Kara because he was a lot of fun and he was funny and him being educated about the human ways was amusing. That all went to shit when the writers predictably went and have him fall for Kara. BORING.

Also, it doesn’t help that I can’t watch Melissa and Chris when they’re in scenes together because all I can think of is the two of them having a relationship offscreen and I can’t seem to separate that from what I’m seeing onscreen. I know that’s my problem, but there you go. Knowing that they are in a relationship in real life has tainted my view of both of them and I just hope that they didn’t cheat on their respective significant others and broke things off with them before getting involved with each other.

Thank God for Winn. He was a lot of fun in this episode and i loved seeing his interactions with Maggie. Alex, Winn, and James teaming up was good to see, but again, Kara wasn’t involved in this storyline so it felt like she was relegated to being a tertiary character on her own damn show.

I loved this exchange between the guy at the bar that Alex apprehended for information about Lyra’s whereabouts.

“What’s it gonna cost you?”
“Hamilton tickets. Orchestra seats.”
“Oh great, now we’re screwed.”

Leave a Reply

