“I believe you, Oliver, I just don’t care”

Episode Title: Kapiushon
Original Air Date: March 22, 2017
Episode Number: 5×17

Episode Description

Prometheus goes to great lengths to break Oliver. Meanwhile, in the flashbacks, Anatoly becomes worried about Oliver’s increasingly violent tendencies, which come to a head in a brutal confrontation.

My Review

For the first half of the flashbacks, I wasn’t really paying attention because I didn’t understand what was going on (although I have the gist of it) and I just didn’t care, but the last half of the flashbacks was very good. I will welcome the next season with open arms when (hopefully) we won’t have any more flashbacks because they are messing with the flow of the episodes. I didn’t mind them in the earlier seasons, but the flashbacks last season and this season have left a lot to be desired. At least this season is slightly better than last season’s flashbacks.

Chase is a demented psychopath, omg. Remember last episode where I was like “I’m on Team Chase”? Well, not anymore. It was fun seeing him acting all sassy towards Oliver in the previous episode, but he showed his true colors in this one and he is certifiably insane. I felt so bad for Oliver for getting tortured and for having to put up with Chase’s mind games and having to witness Evelyn’s murder. DAMN. Not that I cared for Evelyn much, but Oliver did. That’s another person he cares about that he’s lost. I can’t keep up anymore.

So Chase wanted Oliver to confess that he was killing all this time because he LIKES it. Wow. That is pretty huge. Is Oliver going back to his non-killing ways again? I’m not even going to entertain that last scene with him saying he doesn’t want to do this superheroing thing anymore because, come on, who are we kidding? There won’t be a show if he stops being the Green Arrow.

Props to Josh Segarra for an excellent job in this episode. He portrayed Chase’s psychotic and demented ways perfectly. I especially liked the scene of him explaining why he chose the name Prometheus because Prometheus challenged the gods and that’s what he’s doing here, challenging Oliver. I thought that was pretty cool and I love that he’s a mythology fan, heh.

Goodbye, Oliver’s Bratva tattoo.

Malcolm shows up and saves Kovar’s life. Okay then. Guess the Russian flashbacks are far from over.

Leave a Reply

