“I’m still not a hugger, Watson”

Episode Title: Wrong Side of the Road, Part 1
Original Air Date: March 5, 2017
Episode Number: 5×15

Episode Description

Holmes’ former protégé, Kitty Winter, returns to New York after a three-year absence to warn him that a killer is eliminating everybody involved with a case they worked on together in London. Watson discovers that Kitty has a life-changing secret.

My Review

Welcome back, Kitty! Oh, how I’ve missed you and how I wish you become a regular on the show. But alas, it’s not to be so I’ll just settle for this episode and for the one after this. So nice to see Joan and Sherlock’s reactions when they saw Kitty again. I was especially heartened by Joan’s reaction and her natural instinct to go and hug Kitty. Of course Kitty sidestepped away from the hug because she’s still not too keen on physical contact or as she said “”I’m still not a hugger, Watson.” LOL.

Kitty being a mother was a surprise and I loved how she acted around baby Archie and how proud she is of being a mother. I thought it was adorable how Joan was smiling when Kitty was telling her how Archie came about. I’ve grown to just enjoy the relationship between Joan and Kitty throughout all their scenes. I also liked that Joan was concerned about Kitty and noticed something off about her that she went and tailed Kitty. Joan getting the surprise of her life when Ninja Nanny attacked her shocked me. That fight was brutal! There’s no way anyone’s going to get to that baby if Margaret’s around.

I understand why Kitty would quit being a detective, but I hope that she doesn’t abandon it completely and that she would go back to it once Archie grows up. I also understand her hesitation about telling Sherlock about Archie and about her plan to quit because for sure he would feel a bit disappointed, but he’ll be supportive of her decision because he cares about her happiness.

That ending was another shock. Who is that guy and why did he arrest Sherlock? Does he suspect Sherlock of killing Kotite? And who exactly is killing off the people involved with Kotite’s case? Is there something else at play here?

Lastly, I think my favorite scene in the episode was Joan watching with a smile on her face as Gregson is hugging Kitty. It was such a sweet scene. I also really liked the scene where Kitty and Joan (with Marcus) was interrogating the NJ ME in the interrogation room. “Oh look, Watson, she does know what a murder looks like.” Hee.

Leave a Reply

