“Don’t use the word ‘nibbling’ in reference to our son”

Episode Title: What Now?
Original Air Date: March 7, 2017
Episode Number: 1×17

Episode Description

The entire Pearson family gathers at Randall’s for an unusual party. Kevin and Sophie’s relationship deepens on the night of his play’s premiere. Kate struggles to open up to Toby about her father’s death. Tensions are high between Jack and Rebecca as she leaves on tour with her band.

My Review

This show is such an expert in not making you cry for the majority of the episode and then bam, in the last few minutes, it hits you in the feelings department. This was true in this episode where I was fine for most of it and then when Beth read the postcard that William sent, I couldn’t help but tear up. My goodness, that was amazing. “Goodbye, my dearest Beth. The daughter I never had. Love, William.” Tears upon tears. I’m not even exaggerating. I love, love, love that we got this storyline for Beth and how she also loved William and was allowed to grieve and react to his death. Thank you, show, for using the best character (imo) and giving her this spotlight. Susan Kelechi Watson more than delivered. Her tearing up made me tear up!

Randall quitting his job makes me worried because there’s no way one would quit their job in this economic climate. I dislike that he didn’t talk to Beth about this and I have a feeling this is going to cause some kind of conflict between them (how could it not?) even though they always seem to be in sync with each other.

Kevin knocking it out of the park with his play and seeing everyone there with him made me smile. I don’t think he’s going to take up that offer from Ron Howard, though. He has a good thing going in NY with his play, with his family, and with Sophie. No way is he bailing on that now. Kevin and Sophie remain adorable together. It was cute how she brought a crutch to give to him.

Poor Kate. So she told Jack to make it right with Rebecca and that’s probably how he died, driving to Cleveland (while not entirely sober) to talk to Rebecca and to stop with the passive aggressive behavior towards her. This is going to hurt so bad. No wonder Kate can’t talk to Toby about this yet although it looks like she’s about to finally open up to him about what happened.

Can’t believe it’s the finale next week already. I’m not ready to say goodbye to the show yet!

Leave a Reply

