“We’re all in this slideshow together and then we die”

Episode Title: Bad Blood
Original Air Date: March 6, 2017
Episode Number: 3×05

Episode Description

Norman helps Chick with a project; Romero makes his move; an apologetic Madeleine reaches out to Norman.

My Review

Good lord, I don’t think I’ve ever watched an episode of TV that was as batshit crazy as this episode. The level of crazy definitely jumped by a 100% and I just kept on shaking my head as the episode went on because it just got crazier and crazier. Chick witnessing all this insanity is amusing because of his calm reaction and just accepting all this as if it’s normal. He’s pretty sly in that he’s recording his interactions with Norman and Norma and is planning on writing a book about all this. A guy has to make money, right? Although I wouldn’t be surprised if he ends up dead before this series ends.

That ending made me laugh because I saw it coming from a mile away. Chick is now involved in his true crime story and now he’ll end up as Norman’s partner in covering up his crimes and burying the bodies of his future kills.

Madeleine needs to run far, far away. She really is not able to make new friends in town? She has to turn to Norman for a friend? Girl, I hope you realize Norman is not right in the head sooner rather than later. I was afraid that Norman would kill her when he suggested that they take a walk in the woods. Who the fuck suggests that unless they want to kill you??

I was fascinated by the scene where Norma is trying to convince and pressure Norman to kill Caleb for her because she’s always the one who does things for him and it’s Norman’s turn to kill for her. This was a crazy scene.

I have to give kudos to Freddie Highmore again because he is absolutely killing it (pun intended) so far this season. That scene where Norman comes down the basement stairs and sees Caleb and then him turning into Mother…damn, you could actually tell when the switch happened. It’s subtle, but Freddie is so good that you can still tell when he turned into her.

Romero escaping made me cheer, but I’m afraid for him possibly dying from that gunshot wound. I really hope his life doesn’t end here because it would be a huge disappointment if he doesn’t end up having scenes with Norman. I have hope!

RIP, Caleb. Now you can join your sister in the afterlife. I thought his conversation with Norma about helping Norman summed up the show in a nutshell.

Norma: It would never work.
Caleb: Why not?
Norma: Because you’re both in love with me.
Caleb: But he’s your son.
Norma: And you’re my brother.

Leave a Reply

