“You are the only Superman we need”

Episode Title: Exodus
Original Air Date: March 6, 2017
Episode Number: 2×15

Episode Description

As Alex searches for Jeremiah and Kara investigates a series of alien kidnappings, the sisters realize they must break the rules to foil a new Cadmus plot. In an effort to get Snapper Carr to run a story that would help her stop Cadmus, Kara agrees to set up an interview between Snapper and Supergirl.

My Review

Again, unpopular opinion time. Move on if you’re a Mon-El fan. I sound like a broken record every week, but this has to be said. This is going to get long so don’t waste your time if you don’t want to read about my Mon-El rantings.

This was one of the show’s better episodes this season because it did two things that has been sorely lacking for much of this season: 1) we got a bit of Alex and Kara being their awesome selves and making a great team and 2) we got a bit of J’onn and Alex being their awesome selves.

I am begging the writers to refocus the show and put the Danvers sisters’ relationship as the main focus of the show. Yes, there are other characters, but I especially hate that these characters are taking time away from the heart of the show that is Alex and Kara’s relationship. The biggest gripe of the episode for me is having Kara’s last scene with Mon-El instead of having it with Alex.

If this was a season one episode, you bet your ass this episode would have ended with the sisters on the couch eating dinner and watching their favorite TV show. Instead we got Kara and Mon-El sucking face (i turned away from the TV because I just cannot get on that ship AT ALL) and Kara declaring that maybe all she needs in this life is to be Supergirl and him. What in the fuck? Are you serious with this? Kara Danvers’ goal is to be Supergirl and be Mon-El’s girlfriend? How far have you fallen? This is not the same Kara as season one Kara. To base your life around a guy? No fucking way, man. If Cat Grant was still around, she would have put a stop to this nonsense. I am appalled and even more so knowing that two female writers wrote this episode. Way to set back women by decades, show. BRAVO.

Now that I got that out of the way, the good things!

I may or may not have teared up during that whole sequence of Alex urging Kara on to not give up in slowing down the ship. Yes, the whole thing was cheesy as hell with their hands on the glass, but I ate that shit up. We have been lacking in quality Danvers sisters’ scenes that I got emotional when Kara was successful and you could see the relief on both their faces. Alex looked like she was about ready to climb out of the ship right then and there and give Kara a hug.

The J’onn/Alex scene in the end was also very nice and so well done. I just absolutely love the dynamic and relationship J’onn has with Alex and I understand why he tested Alex because he knows her so well. He was doing the right thing and if I were in his position, I would have done the same thing and benched her. Good thing Alex is stubborn as hell and took matters into her own hands with Maggie’s help. Sucks that Jeremiah is still in Cadmus’ clutches, but what can you do? It’s still early in the season and I’m sure they’re going to milk this until the last few episodes of the season.

Other random things:

It was pretty awesome seeing Alex being a superhero with her saving the aliens and running to the ship. That was a really well done scene, btw. Chyler can run like a pro. I will never get tired of seeing Alex punch guys twice her size and winning every time.

So Lillian is the female version of Drumpf in this universe, what with her wanting to rid the earth of aliens? I get what they’re going for, but the message was a tad heavy-handed.

The writers totally put that scene in there of Supergirl saving Lena from falling off the balcony and carrying her in her arms, right? I can just imagine how many gifs we’ll get of that scene on Tumblr, lol. I didn’t even know Lena was going to be in this episode so that was a pleasant surprise. I hope she finds out that her assistant is Lillian’s mole. Not cool!

Did Lena and Kara have a lunch date? That’s my headcanon.

“You are the only Superman we need.” Lillian to Jeremiah. Oh, show. Trying to be cute.

Teri Hatcher and Kevin Sorbo! Lois Lane and Hercules! That was awesome. As much as I’m excited to see Teri, I’m disappointed that she’ll be involved with Mon-El’s storyline and I don’t think I would want to watch the next episode live. Bummer.

Maggie saying she’s “ride or die” with Alex brought a smile to my face. They are just so great together.

Why didn’t just Kara write her article anonymously? Did it never occur to her that that’s an option? Jeez.

Leave a Reply

