“Are you prescribing me a girlfriend?”

Episode Title: Fighting Fire With Fire
Original Air Date: March 1, 2017
Episode Number: 5×15

Episode Description

Oliver faces his biggest challenge yet as mayor. Felicity continues down her dark path with Helix. After Vigilante attacks Oliver while he’s acting as the mayor, Diggle leads the team in a mission to stop Vigilante once and for all.

My Review

Because everyone has been saying that Adrian is the Vigilante, I was so shocked when it was revealed that he’s actually Prometheus. Damn, now that’s a twist. Then again, I had a suspicion in the beginning that he was Prometheus, but because all the comic fans were saying that’s he’s the Vigilante in the comics, I forgot about that suspicion. I should have known better. This show likes to stray away from the comics world from time to time.

I can’t believe Adrian is Prometheus all along and is actually helping Oliver as mayor. This is going to cause serious damage to Oliver’s psyche since he probably considers Adrian his friend. Adrian is playing the long con and I have to somewhat admire his plan to get revenge against Oliver. So is this the beginning of the next arc for this season? We get to find out Adrian’s plans on how to exact revenge on Oliver? Bring it on.

This was actually the second episode in a row that I have really liked so kudos, show, for not disappointing this viewer. The only thing that I didn’t like about this episode was them bringing back Susan into the fold and the writers having Oliver ask Felicity to help him with Susan. That was all kinds of messed up, I’m sorry to say. Oliver asking his ex-fiancee for relationship advice with his current girlfriend and to help her get her job back…I don’t know, man. Seems fishy to me.

Thea resigning her position was a surprise, but I hope she does have the opportunity to fix herself. I was a bit shocked when she suggested that they tarnish Billy’s character and make him out to be a dirty cop in order to have Oliver keep his job as mayor. That was really shocking. What does this mean, though? Will she be hanging around in the lair? What is she going to do?

Too bad about Paul handing Curtis divorce papers. Poor Curtis being excited about getting back with his husband only to be delivered that blow. Not cool, Paul. He shouldn’t have led Curtis on like that by inviting him to dinner. Just go to his place and give him the papers.

Rene’s comments about Curtis’ balls made me laugh so I guess I’m as immature as the rest of the characters because I loved Felicity’s and Diggle’s reactions when Dinah asked what T-speres are and Rene says “Curtis’ balls.” I still don’t like him, though, and wish that the Vigilante just shot him right then and there when he was down.

Oliver throwing Green Arrow under the bus was a bit of a shock and this is going to make his life and his team’s life a lot more difficult. Well, it’s not like they haven’t been in this position before. They’ll be alright.

Felicity officially joining Helix…dun dun dun! I can’t wait to see how this plot unfolds and I’m happy that she’s getting her own storyline apart from the team.

And finally, I’m going to end this with the Diggle and Felicity scene. For the past two seasons, meaningful scenes between them have been few and far between so I was over the moon when Diggle talked to Felicity about the repercussions of having Pandora at her disposal and how she’s going to use it. I loved it when he asked her what her superpower is and she said “computers” and for him to correct her and say that it’s “empathy.” They’re both right, of course. I just hope that we get to have more scenes of the two of them together because when Diggle finds out that Felicity didn’t listen to his advice, there will bound to be conflict.

One last thing: who the fuck is Vigilante then?!

Leave a Reply

