“Who wants to go for a ride?”

Episode Title: The Tinder Box
Original Air Date: March 1, 2017
Episode Number: 4×05

Episode Description

Clarke makes a desperate plea with a former allied force in an attempt to avoid a war and ensure the survival of her people.

My Review

This was the first episode that I’ve truly liked and enjoyed and that had mostly to do with Clarke being her awesomely badass self. This is the Clarke that I fell in love with. It was a thing of beauty seeing her in action in the beginning of the episode and leading her people. Her plan to meet the Azgeda army and talk to Roan was a success and prevented the slaughter of both clans so points to her for that. I just loved her resilience and never-give-up attitude and doing her best to survive. What more can you ask for in a leader?

I loved the conversation Clarke and Roan had about their mothers.

Clarke: You think you can shake down my resolve? I was willing to sacrifice my mother to stop ALIE.
Roan: I was willing to kill my mother for you.

It’s too damn bad that Ilian is still hellbent on getting revenge for all things tech and he ends up blowing up the ship. I really thought the show wouldn’t go there, but of course they went there. I love it when you think the show would zig and then it ends up zagging. Very reminiscent of season one. So their last option is out the window and time is slowly running out. They have to figure out how to make the Nightblood solution work now. Pressure is on for Abby, Jackson, and Raven.

Speaking of, I swear, if they kill off Raven, I am going to revolt. That is one character that must and needs to be alive through the end of this show. The people will not have a fighting chance in hell if Raven is dead. Now she has the advantage of having ALIE’s code in her so she can help come up with a solution to save what’s left of mankind. Is the show really going to have someone launch into space using that rocket? Seems like an outlandish thing, but this looks like their best and only option.

Does this mean Abby and Raven get to spend more time together? I’m all for it. The Doctor Mechanic ship lives on. In fact, there was a lot of great DM stuff in this episode and I was soaking it all in. I don’t care if it’s wrong to ship Abby and Raven; I ship it then, now, and forever. It doesn’t help that both actresses are looking at each other like they are in love with each other, lol. Is it just me and my gay-colored glasses?

Abby hallucinating Clarke in the end (I didn’t need to see Clarke like that)…does this mean that Abby is suffering from the same ailment that Raven is suffering from? Noooooo. They can’t die!

Glad to see Niylah again and I was relieved that she didn’t die. It was great to see her and Clarke interact and her teasing Clarke how she’s “always so serious.” Heh.

Leave a Reply

